Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Layered Balls

by leddkire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to get a ball to touch the checkered surface long enough for you to get to the opened door.

Hitting a ball breaks its surface, reducing its size and revealing a new surface with different properties. After a short time, the ball starts reconstructing its surface until it reaches its original state.

Controls:
A/D: Move left/right
W: Jump
S: Drop ball

J: Grab/throw ball
K: Hit ball

Tips: If you need to gain more height with the throw, try to throw it with your jumping momentum. The sooner you throw the ball while jumping, the higher it should go.

If you're wondering how the theme fits the game, I'll explain it. You have a ball with a certain surface and certain properties, and when you hit it, the surface breaks, revealing the one beneath it. The new surface has new properties.

Made by @leddkire

Sound effects made using sfxr.
http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html

Music made with Bosca Ceoil.
Background made with GIMP
Pixel art made with GraphicsGale
Engine used: GameMaker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#420Fun3.17
#440Innovation3.23
#548Audio2.79
#595Humor2.38
#836Mood2.67
#837Overall2.89
#1098Graphics2.28
#1115Theme2.32

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:25pm

<3

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Very cool idea, I really had fun with this game. I wish it was a little longer but I guess you can always extend it in the future. Great work!

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Doesn't really fit the theme, but I really liked the idea. Well done!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Don't understand how to solve one of the puzzles there seem to be no way to gain height with the balls. Maybe some additional information could be added on how to use the balls.

The game have some problems with collisions managed to throw one ball through the ground.

Overall changing property of items you carry could work but there seem to be no particular reason for why it has to be balls, the kicking and throwing seems to not really add anything.

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

This is a really nice and simple concept that I bet can make interesting levels and puzzles. I was however not able to get past the level where you need to stick the ball to the wall (the one in the first screenshot). I could never get to the door in time before the ball turned red again and fell down.

Good job anyway!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Well thought out puzzles, controls are a little hard to remember. . . :)

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Not bad! The balls are kinda hard to predict though.

javierecf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I could not pass level 4, maybe more kind of surfaces for the balls to react to? the puzzles seems solvable but you have to relly on playin with the physics of the balls, so that gives the player a lot of freedom, maybe adding more ways to open doors? more ways to solve the same puzzle from different angles?...

also when you jump touching the ground sometimes the player can get through the wall and get stuck while been push down for the gravity inside a wall.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Interesting mechanics. For some reason I would, rather frequently, start falling through the level when standing up against an edge.

Charimation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really fun little game and a really creative idea too! :) I love how cheery the music is!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Neat idea, fell through the floor on level 3. I like the general idea though. Nice music!

KuGrou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Really like the idea behind this. Could be a really cool larger puzzle game with some refined physics and more ball types.

Artless says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Solid mechanics and interesting puzzles. There is a great base here.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:41am

interesting idea but not enough guidance to complete the early levels - I lost interest - nice effort

kirbytails7 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Fell through the floor a few times, and the ball physics are a bit odd, but I like it. The music is nice, too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]