Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Another Day at Work

by Evil Scotsman - Jam Entry

Left Mouse Button = Interact

Made by two people. My friend working on the level and I working on the code. The game follows you as you do your daily job at the big company.

*Spoilers*
The idea of the game was to uncover the secret of the company you work for, to go 'beneath the surface' of the corporation. What you find at the end was that the task you were doing each day was what was keeping the people in the test tubes alive. And since you failed to complete the task that day the people died.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#370Humor(Jam)2.57
#391Mood(Jam)3.03
#445Graphics(Jam)3.19
#458Audio(Jam)2.86
#560Innovation(Jam)2.61
#608Overall(Jam)2.78
#642Fun(Jam)2.36
#644Theme(Jam)2.51

Comments

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

It reminds me a lot of Half-Life 1!

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

When I click the mouse button the character stops moving.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Reminds me of my job. =(

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

I don't get it...

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

I liked the graphics, but the controls were extremely twitchy (web version with mac) and made it very difficult to actually do a lot or get very far in the game..

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Was anything supposed to happen after the red area?

tylerb1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very well put together, and interesting game. Not too much to do, that I could find, but definitely held my attention for a little while. I'm not really sure how it goes along with the theme, but that really doesn't matter to me. Good job!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

Not sure if this is a bug, but on the second day i had a capsule spawn in the receptacle i was supposed to put it in.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

That bed does not look comfortable. :(

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Well, it was nice, but does it end? I discovered a thing, I thought they would fire me, but nope.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Fun little game. I always like simple graphics like these. With the overhead voice, I always expected to turn and find someone looking over my shoulder.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Controls were a little wonky, sometimes you get stuck on walls, but neat graphics.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

There is a part that reminds me portal

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Web version seems to freeze when I click the left mousebutton and the entities used to trigger different events are visible in the executable, forming "passable walls".

Not much to do. Simple and clean artstyle. A walking sound would probably have been a nice addition.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

jwin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Amusing. Reminds me a lot of the Stanley Parable

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Pretty interesting, interactive experience, very well done. The sound effect was especially great, very immersive

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice work in such a short time. A pity it's unfinished, because the story you tell could really make the game work.

Newt_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Reminds me of Stanley Parable!

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Cool art piece. I like the 30 Flights of Loving-esque characters.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]