Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Descent|

by HernanZh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Descent↓ is a game where you can only go 1 way: down. Use your hammer to move blocks and crush enemies.
(Note: the game is called Descent "arrowdown" but I can't type the arrow down on this website)

This is the first time I entered ludum dare. It's tough finishing a game in such a short time! As a result the game is very short (only 6 levels), but at least I captured the essence I think.

Also I hastily added mouse/touch controls. On mobile, swipe to move, tap to use the hammer and touch the upper corners to restart. I spend hardly any time to get this to work on mobile though.

Tools/engines used:
The game is written in Javascript/HTML5 and uses the open-source engine Glue https://github.com/spilgames/glue
I used Bfxr to generate the sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#70Theme3.92
#79Fun3.78
#83Overall3.86
#87Graphics4.10
#199Humor3.12
#225Mood3.45
#242Innovation3.53
#347Audio3.09

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

Pretty polished, don't know how far it goes but it gets much harder!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

Awesome game! extremely polished and fun! Very into the theme too.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

A lot of fun, smart level design, and pretty difficult.

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

A solid little game with simple mechanics and great art. I enjoyed it. Well done!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Played it on mobile, it handles pretty well. I really like the art and gameplay mechanic. It'd be cool to see infinite levels!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Really nice looking, I'm not much of one for puzzlers though so I only played for a little bit. Impressive effort.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14am

Cool game Hernan! Love it :) Grtz Riko;)

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great game, plays nicely and the animations are awesome ! I couldn't get past the stage that the spiky dude runs after me D:

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

great job, had fun beating it all. enjoyable level of challenge, very nice sprites

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

Ooooooh! Fun! You and I made similar games in theme but yours is far more challenging and rewarding to play. Reminds me of an old penguin game I used to play on Master System. I got to the end after beating the last level in one attempt. I was very proud of myself. :p But you should be proud, too because this game is pretty cool!

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

I chose to look up this game because it had the same title as the game I made. It looks like you have really good art, and the game play is solid as well although I got stuck in the 4th or 5th level.

My game is playable here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=35234

Let me know what you think of it!

HernanZh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Thanks for the comments everyone!
@niculistana: definitely! I'll try it out.

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Simple gameplay with nice graphics. Well done!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29pm

ace game:)

VividReality says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

This was fun. The gameplay was solid, the graphics were good. The audio was fitting to the low resolution graphics. It has a nice overall style. I look forward to a post-ludum version with more levels.

dukope says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I expected a straight-up action game but was really happy with the puzzle elements. Great mix (and art and sound)!

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Fantastic game, loved the art style and the puzzles! Good work!

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Great puzzle game, fits well with the theme.

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I love this game - one of my favourites! The graphics, gameplay and puzzles feel so old school and that's why I like it :)

May 3, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Good game! After beating the second level I thought for a while that the enemies would follow me to the next level. A bit of a shame they didn't really. The last level was quite hard and it took some luck to get past.

tomvert says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:19am

Best puzzle game so far, one of the best entry, the level design is excellent. I like how every level offers a different challenge, the level design is so great there was no need of introducing new mechanics. Great job !

mat1er says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Great! So sad it's that short...

CDK says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:52am

so i came to the.. 4th? level.. where you spawn next to an enemy.. And that level seem impossible to me - i couldn't run fast enough and when i got to "dig" area the enemy was at me before i fell

bombjack says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:09am

nice game!

SimianLogic says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice little puzzle game! I could see this translating well to mobile as well (tap to move, tap the block below you to drop it).

May 10, 2014 @ 8:19am

Fantastic entry. Very nice puzzle game and mechanics +++ Perfect game length in terms of levels and attention span. I have nothing to add to make this game better except that you should finish it, add more levels and items and release it. Nice job.

Erkberg says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Great game with an interesting gameplay mechanic and good graphics + sound effects. The level where the enemy spawned right next to me and chased me seemed to require perfect timing, which I didn't have. :)

mortus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very cute animation and unusual and refreshing mechanics.

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Great game! Wonderful puzzle idea and graphics and audio are fitting the theme. I didn't get very far (the level where the spiky thing follows you when you start) but it was fun to discover the game play up to that point ;-)

cageinabird says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Like others, I couldn't get past the stage where you're chased by the enemy. Maybe the delay between restarting could be slightly lower, but the controls and animations felt polished.

lorniebear says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I like his face when he falls!

HernanZh says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Thanks for the comments! Yes, the stage is probably too hard, it does have a very tight timing. The trick is to turn around at the first rock and make it drop.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]