Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blocky Dungeon

by Tuska - Jam Entry

<-- Description -->
Endless number of jellies awaits in each dungeon room. Avoid getting hit by those blocks and see how long can you last. Keep track of your personal high score.

<-- Tools -->
Unity 3d : Engine
Pyxel : Graphics
BFXR : Sound

<-- Keys -->
WASD : Move
Left click / Left ctrl : Attack
Left shift : Lock rotation

Note! If input doesn't working, try to refresh the web page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#305Humor(Jam)2.75
#314Graphics(Jam)3.54
#379Mood(Jam)3.05
#540Overall(Jam)2.92
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#572Audio(Jam)2.39
#668Innovation(Jam)2.30
#673Theme(Jam)2.33
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

I really enjoyed the knife mechanics. Good work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

I love the graphics! It's a tough one but I keep getting better XD Nice entry!

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

some bugs of collision, and begin of a room really hard. but pretty fun.

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

I felt that it was too difficult to time the attack, wasn't sure if it read on the click or for a duration through the attack animation.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Attack controls were a bit tricky, but the game was still fun. The blocky graphics and lighting are v. nice.

Tuska says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Thank you all for the feedback.

I couldn't polish the gameplay too much, and weapon collision was one of those things that I simply didn't have enough time to improve.

Weapon animation was made for charge bar in mind, but it was dropped out aswell.

SK16Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

haha, very cool game, even though I suck at it :D it was a bit annoying that you couldn't look up, but that just added a bit difficulty which is good I guess... Overall, very nice and fun game :D

Yaru says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The attack is a bit hard of dominate, but it's fun!

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I liked the graphics and animations. The gameplay was ok, could use some polishing though. For example, the ability to look and attack up and down would've made the game better. Anyway, it's a complete game with no major flaws. Well done!

Joona@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]