Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flipper

by zed0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry, a pretty simple game, mostly focusing on polish.

Big thanks to Earslap.com for their music generator: http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata

Now with a windows port!

CONTROL:
Arrow keys are used to accelerate, decelerate and turn.
If you land badly (not head first) then you will decelerate a lot, turn to face your direction of travel to accelerate again.

REQUIREMENTS:
Requires SFML 2.1 to compile. Hopefully all the requirements are now packaged in the prebuilt versions.
If you're having problems with the precompiled Linux version then make sure you're running ./launch.sh (which imports some libraries) rather than ./BeneathTheSurface

ISSUES:
If you go too far to either side then the sea texture will eventually disappear.

COMPILATION:
Linux:
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
./BeneathTheSurface

Windows:
Set up Code::Blocks to use MinGW
Set up SFML as per http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.1/start-cb.php (I had problems with this and had to compile SFML myself)
Add the .cpp and .hpp files to your project
Build the project.
Copy the assets directory, libsndfile-1.dll, and OpenAL32.dll to the binary directory.
Run the binary.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Graphics3.74
#236Mood3.44
#308Overall3.44
#371Audio3.04
#376Fun3.24
#417Theme3.42
#837Innovation2.68
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very nice mood in this project. Would have been nice to be able to do more than front- and backflips.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37am

Beautiful looking game, would definitely be worth paying for if it had a more adventure element like the Ecco series, but as is, it's rather fun and great to watch.

czery says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

Impressive graphics.
Kudos for great mood. :)

Crumpet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

The combined graphics and simple, calm music makes this one of those nice, relaxing games to play, and the short length actually just adds to that (calming games do sometimes outstay their welcome).

The gameplay is simplistic, and should you feel like extending this in the future, that should be something worth keeping. This game thrives because of it's simple nature and soothing aethethic, and complicating the gameplay would only subtract from that.
As was said before, adding exploration would add, as the game does conjure up a certain level of curiosity within the player.

The graphics for the surface of the water could stand to be a little better, they feel very flat at the moment, and the rays of sunlight could maybe go down a bit deeper. I think there's room for making those surface rays of sunlight look nicer as well, they don't quite live up to the glorious sunset.

Overall, it is a game that sets out to do something simple, and accomplishes it nicely with a fair amount of polish. Congratulations!

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

Pretty blatant ripoff of the flash game Dolphin Olympics. Decent job otherwise.

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Graphic is really good. But the game is a little bit boring. Holding the left arrow key and you do perfect jumps.

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Sweet graphics! It definitly sets a good mood, especially with that transition from water to sunset/sunrise :). It also reminds me both of Ecco the Dolphin, and FlOw.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very nice graphics and sound. Gameplay seems highly derivative of Dolphin Olympics. I somehow managed to go off the bounds of the water background but the physics still worked. Nice game overall.

zed0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29am

Thanks for all the feedback guys!

@otato @Cirrial Unfortunately I haven't played Dolphin Olympics or I might have made an effort to stand out from it. Someone did tell me that it was pretty similar once I had made most of the game, but at that point I was just polishing it and didn't really have time to change it.

I'm aware of the bug where you can swim out of the side of the sea, but I didn't think it was game breaking enough to warrant fixing for this.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Got 19050 points!

Not an original concept, and could use more possibilities than flips, but wow, it's beautiful! First time I shot out of the water, I audibly gasped. I did not expect that sunset :D

vexille says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I got 13k! I love the atmosphere, very pretty indeed.

When you go too far to the right the ocean just ends, though. Also if you start swimming to the left, front flips become backflips and vice versa.

soulrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Relaxing little game, of course more tricks would have been nice as said before.

I did have some trouble with the falling speed suddenly being a lot faster when close to the water, and the animation seemed to indicate I was diving in face-down while it was actually belly-down when releasing the keys.

VictoryGarden says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23pm

This game has a nice, contemplative mood! I was able to finish mid-flip, framed perfectly over the sun, hehe. Really polished and light to play, and the undersea bubbles helped figure out acceleration.

This is great for a 48-hour entry, but if you decide to expand on it, I think that some gentle sea movement would probably be the most helpful thing to set the mood. As-is, the utterly and persistently placid sky and sea had a static behavior that broke my association with the game a little.

Thanks for this! I enjoyed relaxing with it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]