Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Collapsing Cave

by callum.thepro - Jam Entry

-- For controls, look inside of the information file I added to the jar, it gives you information like how to toggle the shop interface --

Collapsing Cave is a my first ever game I have created. It is based around a ship which is trying to escape the depths of the underground as it is returning from a voyage. The ship is out of ammo, and it is up to you to keep it alive. Steer the ship out of the path of the rocks to keep it safe. Along your path, you will gain coins, with coins you can upgrade the ship through the coins shop.

-- Hope you enjoy --

Thanks to my good friend Dwizzed for helping me with some of the graphics!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#633Theme(Jam)2.53
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Found it hard to stay alive for too long and when i died i couldnt get out of the shop but the concept seems nice

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

The background graphic is really weird and distracting, but the game mechanic is quite nice.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

So strange! But good thinking

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

The background was extremely annoying since it changed between some frames all the time. The game was almost impossible to play because of it, my head hurts.

If I tried to put that aside the game was pretty good. I think the shop was a good idea, but I didn't test it that much because of the annoying background.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

WTF this background is hard!! Great game!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I am not really enjoyed gameplay graphics, but that shop art was pretty good. Everything else is more or less good.

callum.thepro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I am going to disable the animated background due to safety reasons while playing

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

your web link just leads to a .rar download. Is there an actual web version of this available? .rars are a bit of a hassle for me.

callum.thepro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

@burgerdare sorry but I will try embed it.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I just get a blank screen on OSX

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I died once and couldn't get out of the upgrades screen.

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:19pm

The controls on the ship once you got the thruster was interesting and innovative. I like the detail in the player ship but the background leaves a lot to be desired.

Was fun to dodge the rocks (especially with thruster movement although I wasn't sure that was helping really) but the lag made it a title difficult.

More graphical or sound feedback in general for the actions you take or incur (damage/score/menus)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]