Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Core Quest

by zell2002 - Jam Entry

First LD!

A game about digging to the earth's core and relieving pressure so it does not explode !
Gems get points so... collect those.

** Update
I fixed the 2 bugs mentioned. Ie High Score not being displayed and the weird end of level bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#355Theme(Jam)3.19
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#464Humor(Jam)2.33
#469Fun(Jam)2.81
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#630Innovation(Jam)2.43
#676Graphics(Jam)2.43
#677Mood(Jam)2.32
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice game. A way to look at my highscores would be nice.

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

Very fun!

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Simple and quite fun game. The only problem I have with it is the digging controls. You should automatically dig when holding the key "down." The blocks will then break as long as you want, automatically. Overall, pretty fun game, please check out my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Love the music, you can never go wrong with 8 bits chiptune like music ;). Agree with other comment, we should be able to dig using only the directional keys. Other than that, cool game.

FelipeTavares says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Loved the music!

Infinerd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Pretty awesome! Music was sweet as well :)

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Found it pretty entertaining although way too easy.
If a game is a bit short, there's no shame in making it more difficult. ;)

The in-game music was great. Very Sunsoft NES-esque.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I'll never get tired of saving the earth! Nice little game, wasn't that challenging though. Still had fun playing it :)

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice game, but wished the movement of the player would be a lot more smoother ;)

I got an error though after failing:
Actor.lua:198: Attempt to use destroyed body.

Traceback

[C]: in function 'setPosition'
Actor.lua:198: in function 'setLocation'
main.lua:101: in function 'MainMenu'
GameController.lua:30: in function 'after'
Library/timer.lua:51: in function 'Update'
main.lua:205: in function 'update'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice work, got the same bug as mentionned before.
The music fits well

zell2002 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Damn. I've just seen the bug too! I will fix and re-post!

Thanks to everyone who has enjoyed the game ! it was fun making !
People werent getting their high scores loaded - and ive fixed that too
sorry you cant skip the opening text and that the movement is little rubbish sometimes
i was meant to make it so, every time you complete a level your score carries over and the timer is less and the gems are worth more - but i guess im not allowed to just add things in :[[

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Unfortunately the controls are clumsy enough for me to not be able to get much O2. I like the concept overall. Nice job.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Neat little game; didn't like the drag in speed when you hit a wall and the slow acceleration back up, but it was a solid game otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]