Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gophers and Choppers

by abrie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the pilot of a low-tech Suction Chopper. Click on a gopher hole to position your helicopter and vacuum up the critter at the other end. Advance to the next level by extracting the critters in the specified order. It takes a special kind of genius to know which hole leads where, so take a peek below the surface and apply your memory. You only get three peeks, so be a savant.

There is no programmed ending, but eventually the game will become too difficult to play (for either you or your hardware).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#174Theme3.72
#189Innovation3.64
#398Overall3.33
#400Humor2.67
#450Fun3.13
#472Audio2.89
#693Graphics2.95
#852Mood2.65

Comments

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

TIL my memory is terrible. Really awesome game. This would make a really good mobile game.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

Fantastic game! Very original

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

This is a nice concept. Very original. I didn't really have a lot of fun per se, but I think that children would really like this. Great educational game.

Looks good, pretty polished too! Be proud!

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:17am

Very original concept and a lot of fun to play. Great work!

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

Really nice work on the audio, it's very funky! :D Awesome little puzzle game overall, great job!

dan.marchand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

Fun memory puzzle game. Surprisingly tricky later on

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05am

Nice! I got some way along, but my brain is too tired. Then I read it is infinite. On the higher levels it would have been good to have a reset button, especially when I got the first one wrong haha.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

Oops I'm so tired I left a normal comment instead of rating.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

Very neat idea. Enjoyed it.

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Very appealing graphics... I like the variety of creatures and the ground rotation effect is nice. I was ambivalent about the music; I liked the quirky theme that plays when you peek underground but some of the other music and sound struck me as too retro for this graphical style.

It was zoomed in a little on Chrome; some of the interface was partially cut off.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice interpretation of the theme, and I agree, it could be a great mobile game :)

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Cool and creative puzzle game, great job :).

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I thought at first it was strangely simple until I realised you could only look under once! As soon as there were more than two guys to get I started to make mistakes. Fun idea!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Game is great and fun took me a bit to figure out what to do :p.

benmcnelly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:42am

Amazing work, love the audio and the theme!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:43am

This is a really cool concept. Nice job!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Very interesting puzzle game - I like it. Good use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]