Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Things for free

by AugustSnow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short visual novel with an unusual control scheme.
It has two plotlines - one overt and one Beneath the Surface...
I hope you enjoy!

Notes:

- Controls:
1.Click on letters to select them, select a whole word to continue.
2.MOUSE LEFT also skips text spooling
3.Press H for a hint.

- For raters: Endings 1-4 are pretty similar so don't worry if you don't see them all. If you saw one of them and one of 6-7 you saw most of the content.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#354Innovation3.37
#523Humor2.47
#801Mood2.71
#861Audio2.11
#1036Overall2.67
#1081Fun2.35
#1175Graphics2.06
#1191Theme2.06

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

I like this game, the story is intense (I love pizza).

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Cool and nice game.

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Story was nice. Keep it up! Next LD will be better :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Now I want some pizza. The gameplay itself is original but not very fun to be honest, I found clicking on each letter a little tedious... Story was funny.

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

@fullmontis yep, I thought of some ways to make selecting words easier without lowering the difficulty (mainly - dragging a line across the whole word) but didn't have time to implement.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice story, but gameplay was lacking. Might have been better as a simple choose your own adventure type game, as it is, I'm just clicking on highlighted letters.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Pretty original entry, I liked being able to make choices, there was not a lot of gameplay elements, but it was cool to see where my choices leaded. Nice game! :)

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I liked it. And now I want pizza.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Great game, enjoyed playing a different mechanic than usual.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:30am

Hmmm, tried to pay and didn't get any pizza!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:08am

Good idea. Too short maybe.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:43pm

i like that you took a different approach to the theme.

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice story. The game is original.
I'm not sure to get the take on the theme.

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I liked the story. Now I'm hungry for pizza DX

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:41am

I like the original approach to gameplay and making choices, it's just a bit tedious to click letter by letter. Maybe easier word selection mode could be tried. I'm glad for the hints: I needed it to find endings 6-7.

Nice work!

xgeovanni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:40am

I got endings 2, 3, 5, 6 and 7. I did end up having to resort to hints.

Belvar says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I didn't found all the endings, after a moment my eyes were seeing letters everywhere and I felt confused ^^
Cool concept anyway, it should be more interesting with a story a bit more epic :p

May 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Interesting game, I enjoyed it. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]