Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Hell Loop

by ricklesauceur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Infinite hell loop is a game about humiliation and brutal death.

Will you manage to escape the hell pit guarded by an evil robot.

Just say the word.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Humor2.77
#462Innovation3.19
#621Graphics3.06
#792Audio2.28
#963Mood2.52
#989Overall2.72
#1076Theme2.42
#1135Fun2.22
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

TheCams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I managed to pass !
I like the death animation :)
Some explanation would be useful

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I beat it! This was really enjoyable, and it felt very rewarding when you figure it out.

ricklesauceur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Ty guys :) I am going to connect a bot which is going to speak all time, to empathize the fact that you need to talk to win

increpare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Heh :)

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:50am

how to play and goal would be useful

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:26am

My robot was still able to talk after it died. =)

I haven't passed the game - yet.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:39am

wat

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:40am

I don't understand what I should do.

MyrddinsOwl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50am

Feels like a one trick game, then it's over. The pixel art is well done though. Overall, it feels like some statement about the ludum dare that I must be missing.

01010111 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:23am

I dunno if I won? I think I won.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:38am

Ha, nice game!

ricklesauceur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:45am

I add a bot to help people to understand they should talk to the turret rather than runshing blindly. But i agree, goal comprehension is the hard part :D

May 1, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Hate to break it to you but you can't add new features like the talking robot after the compo ended. The game feels like I have to say 1 word and I win. There is not much I can do. I like your idea but the execution is kind of poor. Bonus points for innovation and graphics! Noneless good job.

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very innovative.

zeal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:31pm

This was especially funny when another player appeared, tried to win the game but died instead. Talking as a game mechanic is awesome. Definitely a fun unlike the title of the game.

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:04am

I'm embarrassed to say that I couldn't figure out the trick. Humiliation *tick* :) I might have to cheat and peek at the source.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:11am

sorry - did not get it - good effort

ricklesauceur says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:47pm

@GiveMeAllYourCats -> no modification of the client nor the server for that, it is just a normal client on my pc sending random lines.

@zeal, it is what i wanted to do, the mecanic is not interesting when alone and it is why it is hard with a game in a ludum dare, because you do not have the chance to have a lot of concurrent user :(

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Interesting, pretty confusing but I guess I "got it" after a few tries.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]