Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Not All Of Them Died (And They had Beef)

by gapgen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game celebrating industrialised warfare

Move - WSAD
Look - Mouse
Escape to Quit

The total number of graves in the game is around 150,000. The names of real people were not used and any similarities with people living or dead is a coincidence.

NOTE: The competition version is called "theyhadbeef_windows_compo.zip"; the other versions contain an image and sound file taken from the internet. If you are interested in judging the game, please play this version, otherwise play the non-compo version. Thanks!

(Sound effects taken from https://www.freesound.org/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Innovation3.61
#332Mood3.25
#473Theme3.35
#1036Overall2.67
#1213Graphics1.89
#1259Fun1.50
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

flrn says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I'd really like to try your game — Could we get an OS X version too then?

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

+1 on the Mac version if possible

gapgen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

OK, will try to compile it tonight. Thanks for the interest!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

which python libraries do I need for this?

gapgen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

To run the compiled version, you shouldn't need anything. For the source, the latest dev version of pyglet and numpy should do it (I think...) - for the music you might need pyglet to install AVBin.

gapgen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Mac version up!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

A very effective and unimposing polemic against industrialised war (specifically WW1 I'm guessing). The minimalist style -- both in terms of gameplay and graphics -- is perfect for the message.

Really good game and fantastic use of the theme. Best so far.

Colthor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

The Great War.

I think the silence suits it.

gapgen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

Thanks for the comments so far!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Am I missing anything? Is the game just a piece of critic or is there trully an objective?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Mac version doesn't work.. but I'll try the windows version tomorrow, looks interesting!

gapgen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

TEG: there's nothing that's not obvious from just playing. I ran out of time to add some features I wanted, but put it up anyway.

Linus: Boo, it worked fine on my machine, but I have an old-ish (Snow Leopard) Mac so maybe there are differences with the new version. If any error logs came up then feel free to ping them to me and I'll take a look!

copain says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:50pm

nice idea.
But a little collision system would be nice (just to really walk around the graves)...

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:37pm

And that's why most people play CoD or Battlefield. Shooting nameless characters is just so much more fun than being reminded of how devastating war is...

The grave generator is very good, the inscriptions are very believable. I first wanted to say that there is not enough things to do, but I think adding features would have ruined the experience. Walking along the graves and imagining the lives of those people (even if they are fictitious) is quite saddening. Well done!

BMacIntosh says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:15pm

The Educational Corps and Military Accounting seem to be particularly lethal...

gapgen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:53am

ZYXer: I did have ideas for, well, an actual game mechanic, but I didn't spend that much time on LD during the weekend so ran out of time to implement it. Maybe something for another jam...

BMacIntosh: Those pens are very sharp.

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:45am

I agree with the post about FPS games.. this should almost have been put together with a quick mindless shooter for 10 secs where you manage to kill a few hundred incoming soldiers.. and then go to this screen, could have quite the effect.. this is a bit similar to http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=33841

Lucariatias says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:14pm

OS X version doesn't seem to work.

gapgen says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 8:54am

I think the problem with the OSX/Linux versions is that you need AVBin installed: https://code.google.com/p/avbin/ - the Windows version includes the DLL but the others don't. At some point I'll try to make a better version that fixes this bug.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]