Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Miner Problem

by Zednaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game by Zachary "Zednaut" Hewlett.
Made with Game Maker 8.1 Standard. Created for Windows.

Instructions:
You've only got two minutes to explore a vast cave and grab as much loot as you can!

Use the arrow keys to move, press the Z button to jump (hold down and press Z to fall through platforms) and press the X button to attack with your trusty pickaxe. Attack chests, monsters, and blocks to access all the treasure you can handle.

The game is over when you run out of either health or time, so find a balance of speed and caution that suits your playstyle best.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Graphics4.60
#20Fun4.05
#65Overall3.90
#109Theme3.85
#249Mood3.41
#394Audio3.00
#679Innovation2.89
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39am

On the menu, you have to press Z, which isn't explained anywhere (except in the instruction menu, which you can only read if you know that you must press Z to enter it). Anyway, while the key mapping took me a bit to get used to, at least it isn't WASD. The graphics are super cute, and the gameplay/control pretty smooth. The enemies encountered have varied behavior, and the level is filled with interesting things to discover. If I could remap keys to jump with up arrow, I could even see me playing this for a while, just for the pleasure of it.

Sink says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

The best game since load runner for the NES. 10/10

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Fun game. Love the graphics. I wish you were able to jump and swing the pickaxe at enemies. Had no problems with it otherwise.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

cool art! :)

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Awesome little game, if not terribly original. If you could swing the pickaxe and jump at the same time, or jump on enemies, it would have a better flow I think. Graphics and animations are top notch :)

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Great game! It's very fun, and has nice graphics. It reminds me of Spelunkey.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Love the visuals! Pixeley goodness!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I got a score of $1061. Amazing graphics and great menu graphics especially.

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Now that's some nice high-quality sprites that you've got there. You are a skilled pixel artist my friend. The only thing that the game could use is maybe some music, but it still feels polished without it.

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Really nice pixel art! I was a little sad there was a time limit because I wanted to explore the level more :(

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

It's so much fun that I hate that time limit.

Platforming is so smooth! Movement is little bit slow, considering that the character is in a hurry. I think s/he is just being careful, but whatever.

My complaints. The pickaxe response is so slow because of the animation, feels so heavy, and its range is so short. Also I can't hit while in the air, which forces me to wait until they're at the right position.

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

This was so amazing! Love the graphics.

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

amazing graphics and animations. my only complaint is the instruction screen. it's a big wall of text that punches you right in the eyes. otherwise 10/10

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

Awesome entry! Lovely art, good controls, and having to balance fighting and looting is nice. Too bad there isn't music...
Very good job!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

The spritework is amazing. Very clean in crispy style. :) It's a hard game though o.o
After a while you'll learn to deal with the bats. I found that running back and letting them come at your level helps. With a bit more time you could really polish this into a neat game, the powerup mechanic is there, it just needs more of the same. ^^

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:35am

Not bad. Interesting concept with "treasure rougelike" =)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:18pm

My only gripe is freezing in place while attacking. Really polished in art and character movement.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]