Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

War Meeting

by Dr_V - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever wanted to go beneath the surface of warfare and see what its really like? Have you ever wanted to play a war game without all the boring fighting? Do you love meetings? Well this is the game for you!

In this game you take charge of a nation being invaded by an evil neighbor. The country is in chaos and its up to you to save it! How? By attending the right meetings! Schedule your day with productive meetings and turn the situation right around!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Innovation3.96
#116Overall3.76
#157Mood3.59
#312Humor2.85
#312Fun3.33
#457Audio2.91
#746Theme3.04
#836Graphics2.72
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07am

a lot of the time I just felt like 'personal time'

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

Really well implemented. A bit too complicated for my casual game nowadays

aslakhol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

This was great, could use an easy mode because I'm terrible, but I had great fun.

nullhead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

I liked it, maybe you could make this into a greenlight game with a few upgrades.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40am

Hard, but great idea, could be built upon to make it more complex and bigger. Great job.

ripatti says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Really like the game! Finished 2 times on normal but it's too hard for me on hard difficulty. Well done!

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

I love it :)

This is the kind of game in which I can see myself getting lost in the mechanics. I was giddy when I found out you had left the Flixel debugging interface on, because I thought I'd get to see some cool stuff like the underlying numbers or something, but you didn't actually write anything to the log.

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:20am

(I'm totally going to dig through your source code. Hope you don't mind.)

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:32am

Is that a Box–Muller transform? Nice :)

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33am

I have no idea what just happened. Box-Muller.

Dr_V says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:57am

@monika

I actually just use trace for debugging - I tend to use the flixel debugger mostly for performance monitoring.

Originally I wanted some of the randomness to be in a normal distribution hence that method - but I actually abandoned as the normal randomness was all I needed.

I've updated the source zip to include my version of flixel - I've modified it slightly from the official version but I forgot to include it in the source this time.

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:14am

Surprising amount of fun for just clicking and watching bars fill up.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I feel dumb for not being able to beat this on normal difficulty after a half-dozen tries. I understand what all the meeting types do, but it seems like no matter what I do, the stats get worse faster than they get better.

Regardless, amazing and unique game!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:41am

This is a great idea! I love it.

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Loved that you used Otomata for the music =)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]