Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dog Hunt

by tikilittle - Jam Entry

********NOTE**********************
Downloading is a bit confusing, so here's what's up. When you go to GoogleDrive, go "File" > "Download."
*************************************
We just adopted a springer spaniel named Duncan. So, I thought hey I should include this buddy into a game. I immediately thought of Duck Hunt. I wanted to try something different what if you could control both dog and hunter.

Controls:

Hunter:
A - Move Left
D - Move Right
W - Aim Up
S - Aim Down
Space - Shoot

Dog:
Left Arrow - Move Left
Right Arrow - Move Right
Up Arrow - Jump

Made with Livecode + Hexels
Music Credits:
"Music Of My Duck" - Shael Riley
"My Very First Laser Gun" - TH3HT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Humor(Jam)3.28
#236Audio(Jam)3.36
#305Graphics(Jam)3.55
#418Innovation(Jam)2.89
#515Fun(Jam)2.73
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#554Overall(Jam)2.89
#699Theme(Jam)2.22
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39am

Interesting take on an old classic (forgive the cliché).
It was interesting to be able to control both characters at the same time, I think that would have been an interesting mechanic to do expand on.

Also, noticed the ducks had different movement "patterns". Some of them were really jerky, and shooting them just seemed like luck.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21am

I like the hex style, though it doesn't quite fit with the sprites. Nice choice of music.

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

You did a great work, the controls feel a little laggy but only on the beginnng

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Haha! Awesome spin on a classic. Polish up the controls, throw in a few levels and this could be really great.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

The split-attention was a little tricky - maybe good for local two-player?

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59am

co-op would be nice

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

Yeah, I thought about co-op when designing the game. The dog and the hunter need to be doing tasks simultaneously that enable a better co-op experience. Thanks for the suggestions.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

It felt like more or less random luck whether or not I hit the duck - could just be my lack of skill, though.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

This game is so funny. Like a good gamer I did not read how to play the game, so I did not get so many ducks to shoot at. Still had a good time play it and love the music.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27am

Yeah, the collision detection was something I struggled with. That's something in the future I hope to fix.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

Best NES remake I've seen.
Good job.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Wow I love the graphics and the music.

But in my version there was never a duck...
Playing on Mac OS X.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

did you jump into the grass as a dog?

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

Interesting mechanic, really glitchy movement though...

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:39am

Liked this take on the old idea! Thought the ducks were a bit too quick and jerky to aim at very easily (mouse controls would have been nice!), but a good idea, nice art style and the music worked well.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Yay local multiplayer, nice art, well polished, good job !

Harsay says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:49am

Interesting graphics, but I haven't seen any duck.

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Good graphics. It got really fun once I took the time to read the controls description. The only thing really missing is a scoring system.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Love the art style!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Great idea and well executed. Resizeable window would have been nice though as the bottom part of the screen was cut off (MacbookPro) and I couldn't see my score after playing. Also not getting the tie in to the theme...

praporomsk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:49am

Does hunter supposed to shoot the dog? Dog jumps very low, it is impossible, maybe it's a bug? I runned the windows build

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]