Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ascendence

by Diamonde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You seem to be a purple being and you have to escape hell. Ascend the levels and try to reach the surface!
Controllers:
XBox360 - left joystick and A button. (If you find a need for self-destruct you press the X button)
Computer Machine - WASD/Arrows and SPACE/LMB. (Selfdestruct is escape)

The game was made by Diamonde during the Ludum Dare 29 at Sony's hackathon in Lund, Sweden.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#218Audio3.33
#288Graphics3.61
#459Theme3.37
#487Innovation3.15
#505Mood3.04
#517Overall3.21
#807Fun2.74
#965Humor1.83

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21am

Really original ^^. Love the art and the gameplay.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice and varying art, something I wish I would've had time for! Interesting yet simple puzzles. Good entry!

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Really well made! Nice graphics and audio overall. I always like good pixel art! I feel the movement was a bit slow for a game where you need to go forward and back a lot, but other than that great work! :)

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Was not expecting to die when walking past the tree. Player motion a little slow, otherwise good effort.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very good graphics and gameplay, but player moves a little bit too slow.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I really like the little robot guy. If everything moved a little faster it'd be perfect.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Stuck pretty early in the game. Used my gamepad. Kept blowing myself up but I'm not sure if that's supposed to achieve anything or if it's meant to be a restart. Nice work.

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

I really liked this, very cute and the puzzle design is really clever!

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

BallpointPress: The selfdestruct feature is meant to get you unstuck if a certain bug would appear, and is not part of the gameplay. Sorry for the confusion.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I couldn't move ;(

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Good atmosphere... The character was a bit slow for my taste, and puzzle solving when you don't see the outcome immediately gets a bit boring after a bit, but it was a nice game, congrats!

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

First LD29 I've finished. I liked the art style. Fun!

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

nice puzzle

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

The art looks pretty good :D the game play is not bad either. Not a big fan of the music though

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I liked the look of the game, and the sound.

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I found it a bit annoying having the doors offscreen when you were triggering them.

Brodenino says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:44pm

The industrial-like music set a nice mood for me. Graphics are cool, and the puzzles were simple but tricky. :)

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I think the graphics and music set a really good mood (music is good!). Hellish, but not your usual "dark fantasy hell". I liked that.
The gameplay concept is also good but as others have mentioned, not seing the doors open and close as you push the buttons is a frustrating especially since the character walks so slowly.
But to me, it is really something you should keep working on. Good job.

ALobker says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I had to do the first level like 5 times, but after that managed to complete the game.
Great art for this game!

kristof says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:09am

Very nice art style and music! The gameplay is also very original. The only minor complaint I have is, that you don't see the whole puzzle when solving it. This leeds to a lot of trial and error. But still, a very good entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]