Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneeth a steel sandbox

by Mstrp2ez - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A semi real time mmo exploration sandbox game!

Not much of a game tough, but pretty fun nonetheless, even more fun if you play togheter with someone. The server generates new caves as you move into unexplored areas, so you will always have something to look forward to!

This is a multiplayer game, the game experience depends on if you play alone or not.

The client only syncs with the server about every 5 second, for that old school 56k feeling, so don't worry about that.

Also it is very easy to exploit the game, but as long as you don't break it, consider it modding support.

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXJ5gzLSnwg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#375Innovation3.33
#602Theme3.22
#1023Graphics2.44
#1099Overall2.56
#1135Fun2.22
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Hey nice one but I wasn't able to play it with others I like it anyway!

Infinerd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Pretty neat concept, I wasn't able to hop in with anyone but it's pretty cool!

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

As you say not much of a game, but very cool anyway.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17am

This would've been really cool if you could've done more than just walk around. Maybe add some enemies or something. Anyway, good work.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

I like the multiplayer aspect. More things to do would help.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

sweet terramorphing! i'd like to see any gameplay on top of this, even if it would be simplistic. keep up good job!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Neat idea. It reminded me a lot of that Peter Molyneux game in which you keep clicking on the surface to make messages and obscene images. :D

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

Cool concept, now for some game content. :)

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:15am

It's a cool tech demo. You could totally mod this into a multiplayer Dig Dug.

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:13am

I couldn't go off the top of the 1st screen (pretty sure) but I could the bottom. The client doesn't clear other players when I move to a new screen, so I see them for 5 seconds in the middle of a wall. The grass on the walls could also be predicted client side.

The chat also doesn't scroll automatically, even when I am already at the bottom of it. Actually, it scrolls to the bottom every 5s or so instead of everytime something is spoken, which is really annoying.

When I move onto a screen, it doesn't dig the tile on which I appeared (but it will if I walk off of it and then back onto it)

May 18, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Did i hear multiplayer? Sick! Awesome job! :D -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]