Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sea of Sorrows

by brother.byto - Jam Entry

Ok, didn't get everything to work as i wanted, but it's playable, yay!

Controls:
Move right: Right arrow
Move left: Left arrow

Avoid walls and falling stones

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#167Theme(Jam)3.56
#276Mood(Jam)3.25
#385Audio(Jam)3.03
#401Graphics(Jam)3.31
#499Humor(Jam)2.25
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#602Fun(Jam)2.49

Comments

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

Pretty fun!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

You might want to add a note on the submission page that Left and Right are the only controls (as far as I know). It took me a few seconds to figure out what was going on while I pressed keys. :P

The mood is good and the idea is probably promising, but I feel sorry for the fish, who cannot win and who apparently managed to become trapped in an area with walls on ALL side.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

~all I have are the bubbles to keep me company in my dark ocean chamber of death-rocks~

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I got 407. It seems like if you're going to limit the vision of the player and also ask that they dodge falling objects and avoid lethal objects at the edge of the screen that the controls should be a little more responsive and tight. The art style was cool though, and I appreciated the audio as well.

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07am

Nice visuals and audio, creates a very nice mood:)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Interesting. Hard to control. After a while I made it to 1449. Good job

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I really like the jumpy/bouncing movement of the fish, and in this case the dark screen made for a really oppressive atmosphere. However, I ended up dying for reasons I didn't understand, and gaining points for reasons I didn't understand, either. The game might have been easier to process if the entire playing field were available onscreen at a time, rather than panning with the movement of the fish.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Didn't dig. Score zero every time, because what is score anyway? The music made me feel like a really ugly fish, so that was pretty cool.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Nice moody audio, found it quite tough to play!

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

very simple yet cute game

GhostID says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice graphics, simple game and pretty fun! Leaves the player wanting more, and wanting to beat their last score :). The controls weren't very clear at first but once I figured them out, it was fun.

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:21pm

The non-standard controls (the fact that moving left/right also boosts you upwards) took awhile to understand. I think that was compounded because of the dark environment. I wasn't able to get a sense of my bearings soon enough to understand how the movement worked. After about 10 rapid deaths I started to get the hang of it. I liked the strange sounding music and the darkness.

Tomski says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:17pm

hard game but like the look of it

kristof says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice concept. Took me some time to get the controls right, but then I had quite some fun. Nice entry.

May 19, 2014 @ 11:35am

Nice game, liked the simple controls. Got a score of 136.

borrismoose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:43am

It took a couple of quick deaths to realise that you have to press left and right and not hold them. After that is was a good bit of fun though, you got a good mood across with limited resources. I reached 400 before hitting the bottom.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]