Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Climber

by lfpetrini - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Climb up the mine and kill goblins!

Press arrows and 'C' to select options in the menu.

I couldn't do half of what I originally planned and the code ended up really messed up.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#340Fun3.29
#347Graphics3.49
#372Overall3.36
#376Theme3.46
#748Humor2.18
#801Mood2.71
#810Innovation2.71
#1038Audio1.42

Comments

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

Very fun gameplay, very addictive and engaging. I would have just kept going except I came to a part that was impossible to get by :(
Graphics are great and controls are solid

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Thank you for the feedback, I have managed to fix some bugs regarding the level generation, there should not be cases like that anymore.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

could have done with a bit more challenge, but it's not bad ! kept climbing and climbing :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Very nice and fun little game. Audio would be nice though. Scary AI on the goblins, and good game logic with the shield and the rising water.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Beautiful game, tough the level generation still have problems, I found myself locked on level 45.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Very tricky, ice climber-esque gameplay. A lot of fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Pretty fun though the combat mechanics could use some refinement. Maybe gaining exp from climbing floors wouldn't penalize the evasion strategy and make it less grindy.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Made it to floor 129 before dying. Fun simple little game. I think the water could have risen a bit faster to give it more challenge (at least have it always be at the bottom of the screen as a minimum height). Loved the simple block and slash combat.

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

Nice Game,, can make more levels...

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Really fun game :D I got 100 floors before a goblin maimed me xD Lots of fun though :) and very smooth controls wise too

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Climb, climb, climb, it's fun!!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice and fast platform game. The water gets a bit irrelevant though as you can quickly jump past most goblins. I'm not really sure if the shield is very useful. But I like the feeling of it, the graphics etc.

lfpetrini says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:16am

Thank you guys! All the math behind the damage, leveling, water rising, etc, was improvised cause I was running out of time, but I'm planning to continue working on it in the future to add some more features and correct some of the messes I made.

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Fantastic graphics. As others said, it's a bit easy to avoid both fights and water. I managed to get to floor 141 without ever pressing "c" or "x". Then I tried fighting but I felt each level I gained didn't make me feal so much more powerful. I think this reward feeling is a key point to pushing this the goodness is deserves.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]