Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Orgy

by NukeTheBunnys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So I made a plan, and completely ignored it. Here is a random squeaking thing.

This was originally going to be an action rogue-like, but when it came to crunch time I decided to polish up what I had instead of adding more content and lots more bugs.

Run Around and pick up things and push around a red box.

To Launch:
Unzip the downloaded file to a directory, launch TreasureOrgy.exe

Controls :
WASD / joystick for movement
Mouse - click and hold for the box to move in the direction of the mouse pointer
Space - generate new level - MORE SQUARES!


Tools:
C++/SFML(2.1)
Box2d
Visual Studio 2013
Manga Studio 5 (art)
bxfr
paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#348Humor2.77
#459Fun3.12
#582Audio2.73
#850Overall2.88
#855Innovation2.66
#874Graphics2.66
#1010Mood2.44
#1094Theme2.38

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

I honestly have no idea what I just did, but whatever it was, I loved it.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

I have NO idea what was going on (The red block didn't do anything). >.>

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

It certainly squeaked :p On the plus side, that's one of the nicest score counters I've seen so far :p

Logan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

It's not really much of a game, but it's somehow very satisfying to collect all those little dots.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Hilarious sounds - what just happened?!?

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Honestly, if you added some particles and screen shakes and shiny things... I'd play it. A... more pleasant noise would help too :D Good on you for knowing when to start polishing!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

this entry is a cool one. Im going to play for a little long

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

haha nice one :) Wish there was more square to pick up...

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

I love this kind of stuff. After a long night of playing and rating LD games, it's great to get something like this to relax me. Thank you so much

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

I like the fast paced nature of the gameplay. Needs some sort of goal, though.

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26am

Treasure Pit Cleaning Simulator 2014 :) Would have been nice to have some sort of goal or achievements though.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55pm

That was definitely a squeaky little thing. I dig the randomly-pitched sound, that was smart.

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Crazy ... but feels good

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25am

I think you've succeeded in polishing what you had, because even while it has no real goal or challenge to it, the game feels fun to just spam space dozen times and then collect hundreds of spawned treasures. If the combat part is at least somewhere near that fun, I wish I could play the intended roguelike.

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Strange but cool!

danialhyatt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I quite like this. The collection sounds are delicious, but I wish there was more to it.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:49am

PEWPEWPEWPEWPEW

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]