Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Flip

by SuperPokeunicorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello guys! This is my 3rd Ludum Dare game, Surface Flip. This game is a combination of a runner and one of those games where you can go inside of the ground (where in lies my use of the theme). The game is procedurally generated, causing for a lot of very interesting terrain combinations. This time I finished a bit early so I worked hard on polishing it up, adding alternate color pallets, difficulty settings, a proper delta time system, and multiple music tracks (just don't choose tracks 4 and 5. I just included them for the lols. They are terrible).

Post your top scores in the comments!

Controls:
Space to Jump and respawn.
A to flip surfaces and return to the main menu.
Mouse to navigate the menu.

Tools:
Eclipse
Paint.net
Autodesk SketchBook Express
http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata
http://www.rw-designer.com/image-to-icon
Launch4J

Tip: use the flip to minimize jumping and maximize falling.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#304Audio3.16
#517Fun3.06
#562Innovation3.06
#625Overall3.12
#700Theme3.10
#836Mood2.67
#995Humor1.76
#1175Graphics2.06

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice game, but I got stuck in the menu once. Great work though

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

cool idea :D I like it
But man, 59MB?! That's a large game you have there ;D

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

That's kind of hard...

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Keep getting stuck at the menu so it's hard to retry. Quite a large file considering the lack of assets in the game

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Short and sweet! The menu didn't always respond, but the gameplay was intuitive and challenging.

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

I was not able to run the exe. I got the Windows safety prompt, but then no game :(

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Cool idea. Found the controls a bit off. Would say I died when I felt the just was fine. Nice work :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

This would make a great mobile game! I'm a bit confused as to why the download was so large, but that's not really a priority here!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

For those wondering about the download size, my guess would be the music. The game as 5 .wav files, which I have heard is not the most size efficient file type, but It's a bit late to change that now.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

This is haaaard! My best score on medium was 127. Great idea, and it's fun. The music is nice too!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Prety fun! nice mechanic, very challenging.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

SuperPokeunicorn: As wav isn't compressed it's big.. but I guess you can convert this to some reasonable format and update the jar (let's call it typo :-D ) -- see bottom of the page: (MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep.)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Hmmm . . . I tried fixing the problems with the audio format, but the only formats java seems to support are .wav, .au, and .aiff, which are all about the same size as far as I can tell. I feel like adding some sort of plugin for .MP3s or .OGGs would be a bit too large of a change to consider a typo, so I'll just let it be.

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Man, this game is fun! Awesome music, too! The UI doesn't seem to register my mouse clicks that well, though.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:34am

can't launch the game on windows 8 :/

May 3, 2014 @ 11:57am

Hey SuperOkeunicon,

This might be the solution for your music:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6045384/playing-mp3-and-wav-in-java

(Or maybe just for the next java game you want to put music into.)

Greetings,
JP

tuxxilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Great gameplay idea but the controls/balancing should be improved. I lost many times due to the fact, that I just could no jump or flip in time.

Shide says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:32pm

A good time killer, but nothing more

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Interesting idea! I found the game SUPER hard, but it was rewarding each time I got a bit further. Great idea having changeable color palettes.

Belvar says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Really cool game, the flip mechanic really changes the basic "run and jump" gameplay and makes it more interesting. Some kind of scoring would have been nice.
The music is really good.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:45pm

@Belvar There is a scoring system if you look at the bottom of the screen whenever you die, though I don't blame you for missing it.

Delca says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice (but quite hard) game there. I liked it!

dcolgan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:00am

I really like the game mechanic. I played this longer than most other LD games!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:30am

Very cool concept! I also got stuck in the menu seemingly at random.
The multiple color palette options were a nice touch.

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:34pm

A couple bugs. Sometimes the game doesn't want to start when I click Play. And a few times I died when the hit detection shouldn't have killed me. It's pretty tough to have to decide whether to flip or jump -- good innovative mechanic:)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]