Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mushroom Jazz

by isyourguy - Jam Entry

A weird walking and friendship simulator by @tomkail, @isyourguy and @glanderglander.

Controls:
Left/Right to move
C to change colours

Ran out of time on this one. Uploading for posterity. There are undoubtedly lots of bugs. We feel like there's loads of potential beneath the surface of this idea, but we weren't able to unearth it. ;P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#76Audio(Jam)3.83
#117Humor(Jam)3.35
#205Graphics(Jam)3.81
#276Mood(Jam)3.25
#434Innovation(Jam)2.86
#649Fun(Jam)2.34
#683Overall(Jam)2.53
#760Theme(Jam)1.52

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

Quite enjoyed that. Thanks for making :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

Neat. The music and the graphics are pretty darn rad.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

oh man, this is great. puts a smile on my face :D

j_peeba says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Clearly unfinished but I love the groove!

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:35am

There should be some dangers waiting for them, but still, it's not bad. Hope you'll come up with more ideas connected with color changing.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39am

Sweet art, music, and nice style!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Your atmospherics are great! I love the peppy atmosphere, the bouncing trees, the... well, the whole psychodelic mushroom samba schtick. It'd be fun to play a completed game with these visuals for sure!

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

This is all that cares about friendship. Hangin' out, changing colours, and listening to good music.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Really fun but just needs a game mechanic.

lonewookie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Love the visuals, but I don't know what's going on, haha. Great job though!

TCP786 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:00am

So did you take the mushrooms as soon as the theme was announced?

Just kidding. Seriously though, this is awesome. It does lack a mechanic, but it's definitely a great start artistically.

May 16, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice to play another music game! I love the change of the color! :D

May 16, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Doesn't work here on Ubuntu Firefox :-(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]