Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Offshore Drill

by x2l2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

i try to made a game and fail ....

first time using Phaser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1959Coolness24%

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

It's hard to learn a framework in 48 hours. Good effort!

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

Confusing, but good effort.

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:54am

Never give up learning!

tuxxilla says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:30pm

This felt a little like oil imperium :)

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Cool potential for sure. Keep at it and hats off for trying something new!!!

copain says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:32pm

you don't fail, you learn...

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Font issues but the interface makes sense.

Sestren says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

Making anything in such a short time frame, particularly with a brand new framework is impressive in its own right. It looks like you missed LD23 through LD28, but I hope we see you again for LD30!

kevinAlbs says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:18am

Not bad progress for first time using Phaser. Phaser took me a little while to get the hang of. The docs are a great resource though. Especially the examples. And the forum here: http://www.html5gamedevs.com/forum/14-phaser/ is pretty active. Best of luck to you!

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:31pm

At least you've learnt something for next time. Keep at it with Phaser, it's a great little framework :)

Gamepopper says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Don't give up from this. A lot of people in the comments has made it clear that learning a framework in a short amount of time isn't easy, use some time before LD30 to get a better understanding of Phaser and you'll do great. :)

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:41am

Nice try!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]