Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fist of Truth

by djdduty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the surface evil is in everything, you just need to fist things with truth to reveal it!

needs msvc 100(2010)

Controls: WASD Movement, Left Click to punch. Menu Controls: W/S to change selection and enter/space to confirm.

Again I am lacking on content but I figured since I did this all in c++ with no huge fancy engine to help me out, I did well.(I did use my framework but it is only really a crappy SceneGraph at the moment.)

Bonus points if you can figure out what the second way I applied the theme is(on the last level)....

Enjoy and please leave comments!

Update 4/29/2014 - Fixed huge cpu usage problem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#96Humor3.52
#600Graphics3.11
#611Mood2.93
#731Fun2.83
#757Audio2.35
#855Innovation2.66
#1007Overall2.70
#1031Theme2.53

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Wow nice FPS Duke Nukem 3d style :D I like the style of your graphics :D

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

When I tried to run, it said I needed two .dll files, and when I downloaded the required .dll files, it wouldn't load, giving an error that said "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application. If it helps, I'm on a Windows 7 x64 PC. Its a shame, I was looking forward to playing it...

djdduty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

@Gravity Games, The only external thing you should need is msvc 120(2013) redist... I compiled it on Win8.1 64bit using msvc 2013. I will try compiling this with 2010 and seeing if I can get a better result.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

I now know more about Barack Obama than ever before. Thank you.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

pretty neat, a bit difficult but I got the majority of the jokes through a couple playthroughs haha

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

Awesome! I like it! I died at the Obama part :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

"you just need to fist things with truth" could be the weirdest phrase I have ever read. :P
But unfortunately it didnt work for me, I got the error:
"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)."

djdduty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00am

@OhFiidleDiddle, Did you read the description? You need msvc 120 redist(which you should already have...), Link is in the description.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

THANKS OBAMA.

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52am

Haha. I keep getting killed :( I like the style but it lacks in the fun department a little.

djdduty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

@NeiloGD Because you didn't get past the bunnies? :P

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Nice job, love the retro-style graphics.

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

Funny game! Pretty cool.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54am

Just a joke game made for the sake of being a joke game. If you're gonna have humor, at least incorporate it to some meaningful gameplay.

djdduty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

Yay for jiggawatt! <3

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I love it. :D Bonus humor point for FALCON PUNCH! in the console when I closed the screen.

euske says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:38pm

There should be jumps with space key. I like jumping.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28pm

We need the KNEE

djdduty says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:54pm

wut? ._.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Heh... It made me smile, but this isn't a very good game which you probably already knew when you conceived it.

djdduty says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Yeah I knew, but I had no ideas and I wanted to make something, I could have added more content and actual difficulty, added things like health pots and such. I had enough time left but I was simply too tired after 36 hours awake or something(which isn't much but I need mah sleep!)

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

I have an AZERTY keyboard. So please also accept arrow key input instead of just WASD.

I tried to run the game, but all I get are white rectangle over black background. Because of how they are grouped together, I suspect each white rectangle is character, that is incorrectly rendered on my system.

Could not play.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:32pm

This was random....

May 2, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Strange game and I probably don't get the satire part of the game. But the fist of truth is a cool concept. However, you could improve the concept by facing the players actions by using its fist all the time.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:55pm

A quite surreal adventure my friend :) I really enjoy your artstyle, kept things fresh. but like you said, much too short!

cardboard says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The music was pretty lame, but in a good way. I like the graphics (especially the bunnies), but things overlapped sometimes, and once I had to fight an invisible Obama. I played through a few times until I figured out how to beat Obama.

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:31am

Nice graphical style.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:06am

I won - funny game - nice job

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Like the graphical style, very cool that it was all made in raw C++
Not sure if weird humor or political message though o.O

djdduty says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:29am

@Bernhard, weird humor... taking to the extreme/making fun of the Obama scandals with birth cert being fake/people saying he is from terrorism etc. I used the theme twice, beneath the surface everything is evil, and beneath the surface it is actually REALLY easy to kill Obama... just sit there and spam click you deal damage faster than him, stop tryharding/juking him. Stop complaining about that people! :P

voxel says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:26am

Is this FISTS or FIST of Truth? We need to know the real truth.

Great game. I give it four fake birth certificates out of five

djdduty says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:15am

@Voxel It's both, and neither. Everything is a lie.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]