Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Earth

by john111898 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Into the Earth is a short game with some very simple puzzles playing with the mechanics of the game. Each level goes further beneath the surface of the Earth than the last.

The game was written in Java using only the JRE System Library. I made the sounds using Bfxr and the graphics using Paint.NET.

Controls:
Movement: Arrow Keys or WASD
Restart Level: R

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#872Innovation2.64
#939Audio1.86
#955Humor1.85
#1118Theme2.31
#1145Mood2.15
#1153Fun2.17
#1216Overall2.26
#1231Graphics1.78

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

I couldn't get past the first tutorial level.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Good tutorial and good idea

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Cool idea and a cool game. Would be great if the text in the tutorial would fit in the screen.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Really simple graphics but pretty good.

jancsiba5 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good idea, but bit buggy, and performance is not the best(I mean fps), but I liked it.

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Having troubles on MacOS. Maybe it's just me :
admins-MacBook-Pro:Downloads admin$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_45"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_45-b18)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.45-b08, mixed mode)

admins-MacBook-Pro:Downloads admin$ java Into\ the\ Earth.jar
Error: Could not find or load main class Into the Earth.jar

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Simple and elegant, great job!

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

as one java programmer to another I must say well done only using the JRE is a huge accomplishment although the collision is a little wonky at times love the game good job

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I found the controls and collision detection to be somewhat dodgy; however, the puzzle ideas are interesting. I think there's something in here that could be developed further.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

It's a little buggy but using only the JRE seems to be hard, so good job!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Wouldn't start on OSX Mavericks

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Huh, the left click doesn't seem to work for me. (Linux, OpenJDK)

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I just see an empty window on OSX

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:07pm

It's pretty good, though the controls were a bit hard to get used to.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12pm

It ran very slow for me, and the controls were unresponsive. It looked interesting, but it was too frustrating to use to get anywhere.

CiderPunk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:13am

Nice ideas but the control issues hampered my enjoyment somewhat

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:10pm

The game mechanics idea is nice, but technically you can learn a lot more.
In lvl 4 I was really happy about the object pusher '^^

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Hmm... colisions seems little buggy. They're many places where I can't perform jump.
Also it seems like it doesn't matter if I jump from ground level, or while standing on box, I always reach the same point. It was very iritating to pass that box-creating button from 1st lvl.

Also it's running very, very slow :(

ZQMony says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:36pm

You accelerate very slow.

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:28pm

The controls and collisions in this game make it almost unplayable for me. I really tried but just basic movement is really bad and frustrating. Sorry. I would work on improving the movement input and the issues with picking up/dropping off boxes as they get stuck in everything and then the player sticks to the boxes.

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:02am

So this game has potential but a few issues were too frustrating to get past. First the player character's movement was all sorts of off. Going from stationary to moving left or right took way longer than it should've. Jumping causing the player's left or right movement to stop felt off. Putting boxes near the first level's counter became difficult after the 4th. I feel like a little more polish and I would have enjoyed this a lot more.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

The tutorial level was challenging. Controlling movements were clunky, though I like the game title.

FGM says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

Interesting idea. Controls are really awkward. Movement generally should not be dependent on the OS keyboard button hold, which is what keyPressed() relies on. Better is to use flags.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]