Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oh My Jump

by greatmars - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where every jump counts and planning your jumps will lead your success in this puzzle platformer game.

You move using left and right. and jump using space.
Hint: Pressing space faster makes you jump higher.

PS: Sorry for the lack of audio and lack of tutorial, also wanted to work on the jumping mechanics a bit more but there is so much you can do in 48 hours xD

PPS: Pls tell me at what level you stopped playing just so I can improve the game, thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#272Innovation3.48
#807Fun2.74
#837Overall2.89
#901Humor1.94
#1112Mood2.25
#1195Theme2.04
#1204Graphics1.93

Comments

greatmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

just noticed the typo xD

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

Tried a few times, but couldn't get past the first platform... I think I got that you have a boost and I need to conserve that, but it seems to take 2 to get there then you have 0+0 and can't reach the powerup...

greatmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Pressing Jump Faster makes you go higher

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Interesting mechanic with the jumping. Makes for some nice puzzles.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice platformer, not as much of a puzzle game though since almost all of the difficult is in using the jumps correctly. I have not played a game where the quicker you press jump the higher you jump before. Lots of possible improvement and you should probably try to lower the reliance of stacking jumps together.

greatmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I agree, Each jump lacks identity they get lumped easily together. I tried to avoid that on level two (AKA Page 2 :D ).

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Jump mechanics feel a bit odd. But I enjoyed the kinda puzzly aspect of the limited jumps. Good job!

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

very interesting and original game

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Great idea, just a little hard to beat, couldn´t pass second page!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

At first I was going to complain that it needs better balancing, but then I got the hang of it and suddenly it became easy. I guess it needs more polishing in terms of responsiveness, more than anything. Otherwise it's actually alright.

M4rw4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Nice character Blinking :D, hard level design as a beginning..great Job! :)

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I made it to page 2 :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I collected the yellow crayon on the first page but then nothing happend, and I couldn't figure what I was supposed to do.

It's a shame, the lack of tutorial or explaination really hurts the game. You have a nice mechanic

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23pm

interesting concept ! i couldn't manage to get really far (only the second lvl xD) but I enjoyed the game !

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice concept!

larouxn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Nice work. The mechanics are certainly interesting, pretty different. Unfortunately, the game itself is mad hard. I couldn't get past the first part for the longest time. Kinda hard for a first level?

Anyway, great job for 48 hours. Fantastic concept.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Hey! Nice jumping mechanics yet there're no checkpoints so every time I hit a spike on page 2 I spawned on page 1.

greatmars says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:17pm

I am glad a lot of you enjoyed the jumping mechanics, and I promise i will ease out the difficultly curve and add checkpoints in the final game, thanks for the valuable feedback :)

greatmars says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:20pm

also I kind of shoot myself in the foot, cause apparently the bad difficulty curve made it hard to see the ending which is now lost time if no one sees it...

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Very Cool!

petrocket says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Once I figured out what to do this was actually kind of challenging. I like the puzzle aspect.

MidCry says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Hard to catch but fun to play ... Good Job

joe40001 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:26am

Welp, despite your doubts :P I made it to the proper crayon ending. I was getting worried about making it but then I realized there weren't that many levels so I didn't mind it that much.

You made good use of your jump mechanic, once I got the feel for it, most things made sense. And you weren't that brutal on the player if you wanted to be really mean you could probably have taken out a couple of jumps (1 in level 1 and 1 in level 3).

Anyway I liked it, innovative gameplay, if you want to really challenge the player then you could have the player choose at the beginning if they play normal mode or hardcore mode, normal mode having checkpoints.

I liked the "got all the crayons ending screen", and good level design overall. Thanks for sharing this game. ;)

greatmars says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:24pm

thanks for the feedback and for taking the time to complete the game, I am happy you enjoyed the crayon ending ( Now I can die happy knowing that someone saw the ending xD )
I like the idea of having normal and hardcore mode, I'll definitely consider it, thanks again.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]