Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Danger mines!

by mikhog - Jam Entry

We made this at the awesome Sony hackathon in Lund. It was originally designed for android pad with PS3 controller but we adapted control to work with keyboard as well for easier testing for you guys!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Theme(Jam)4.18
#84Innovation(Jam)3.73
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#418Audio(Jam)2.95
#561Graphics(Jam)2.86
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Emulates the danger of mines quite well, by making you cautious. Great game. Personally, I think the mines explosion is enough, without the detached limbs.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Hahaha, that game scares me so much! Pretty good game fitting the theme.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Pretty cool! I wish it would show me my best score, as a motivation to keep trying. Also, I know the keyboard controls are not the primary input, but it'd be nice if "W" was forward instead of up. I also wasn't crazy about the detached limbs.

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Good idea, nice job. :)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

It took me some time to figure out how to rotate; the game was interesting but I didn't know if the blue rings really affected anything; were they just for the player to use as a reminder?

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Intelligent concept, made me procede with caution, and had some manly jumpscares when got caught by one mine

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Wow that was stressful, but in a good way. It was fun to try and traverse such a deadly landscape but I must admit that I did not know I would need audio to play the game and spent a few minutes trying to find a key that would activate my mine detector/revealer.

I did stumble upon the i key which hides the markers. It would be good to provide a key bindings reference! I also noticed that clicking the mouse produces a whooshing punch sound? What is that about? :)

StoneMasters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Haven't physically jumped this much in a long while!

sandbaydev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04am

Didn't rate because I didn't get how to use the blue/red things. Instructions please & and I'll test & rate it! :)

0Creds says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Very nice take on the theme, an interesting idea carried out quite well. Good job.

littleball says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very good game, I could get addicted. The controls took a little getting used to.

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:05pm

fun little game, explosion scared the shit out of me.
Still don't know how to rotate

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:35pm

That was intense. Good job!

camlang says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Good game. Sound really make me afraid

Bokan96 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:03pm

That explosion, though.
Nice idea!

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

When do I search for mines? My guy just keeps exploding when I move torward the target.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]