Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I Hope Drill Sempai Notices Me

by castlecake - Jam Entry

A resource collecting space-mining game in which you must court the planets before they allow you to scan and ultimately drill them.

There are currently no sounds, voices, and no music in this build but I will add them in a future release.
The same goes for missions and objectives, which will include mining company requests for certain amounts of resources, creating a number of empty planets in a row, purchasing gifts etc.

I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

Sodaware says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

It's certainly and interesting take on the theme :)

Graphically it's pretty solid. The cloud animation on the planets is a nice touch, and the talking/facial expressions work well.

Gameplay wise it would be nice to have some clues about each planet's personality, and maybe dividing them up into solar systems rather than just a long line. It definitely has potential!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01am

The humor/reference is great. As Sodaware said, it'd be nice if they were divided up, because I didn't know if there was a larger goal or I was just trying to score more resources.

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

Great game! :) Such a funny concept and nicely polished too!

castlecake says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

Thanks for the comment so far!
I am planning on implementing objectives to reach an ultimate goal (currently it's just an infinite number chaser). I hadn't considered separating by solar system, that's a great idea that would provide a great natural break between sets of objectives. Cheers!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Good to see this one finished! REally love the dialogue. I wasn't exactly sure how to be good at the game....but just interacting with the planets was good fun. I htink some sound would really give character to each planet. And as someone else suggested a view of the planets from a distance so that I can have some choice over which planet I meet.

Yaru says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very very funny, I think it's one of the most original games I've seen lately here.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01am

Combining drilling with a dating game... not something I would have ever expected! It was fun, though I think probably my main objection was the simplicity of the routes. It got to be pretty clear which answers were the good ones and which ones were bad--which was in no way dependent on the presented planets' personalities (or so it seemed)--and so I lost immersion pretty quickly.

Still, this is really original and I laughed for quite a bit. Well done!

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Great sense of humor, it makes me laugh. I wish it play finished now :)

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This is really original. Good art style.

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Hilarious game, planets + dating sim + space = this game.
The animations just make this concept even funnier. Gameplay wise the short dialogue and duplicated choices made it quite repetitive after a while. I would of enjoyed staying on each planet longer, maybe add sub-objectives for each planet and personality variations. Overall good effort given the time frame!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]