Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Core Is Yours

by 9joao6 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your mouse is your only friend. Even gravity is against you.

In "The Core Is Yours", you cannot move around freely. You have use your water powers to attack enemies and to jetpack yourself around. But be careful, for the water is also the ammount of health that you have left!

Your objective is to get out of the Earth's core (or reach as far as possible from it) while avoiding hazardous flame bats that seek to evaporate your water.

//

Stuck? Press R! The collision system is indeed very complicated to work with :(

Found a bug? Please tell me what the error report said and what happened before it showed up! I'll fix it ASAP.

@9joao6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Innovation3.42
#566Audio2.77
#607Fun2.96
#617Humor2.35
#654Graphics3.00
#658Overall3.08
#836Mood2.67
#1140Theme2.25
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Sannis says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

cool

KayZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Had to try it until I won. Maximum distance of 3173. Nice game and interesting mechanics.

stenol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Good game. Excellent mechanics. Good work !

metjm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I love the idea and the execution seems really solid. Good Job!

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Interesting mechanics, even if I found the title screen to be the most funny part of the game !

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Reminds me of an old arcade game. I think the effects are really fun!

zzForrest says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Really nice, but the camera is pressed up so close to the character I couldn't see anything. The perspective of the title screen would have worked just fine for the game.

lajos says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:01am

Very cool mechanics!

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very good! I found it somewhat difficult, but tried around 10 times anyway!

DarknessFades says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I dont rly get gameplay... but i rly like it :D Mechanic, graphic... even music are great!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Love the mechanics

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:11pm

I have no idea how to last longer than 10 seconds in this game. I can't travel very far and the bats swoop in and kill me really quickly. Plus, even the main menu is confusing on how to activate the 'play' ? It doesn't seem to work half the time. Lucky I can hit 'r' to try to the main menu again. I thought the concept was pretty cool, just wish the execution was there.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]