Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath my skin

by RaycoSantana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

old school Accion sidescroller, the theme might be a little subtle here, because I didn't want it to be obvious but not only you play "beneath the surface" (in some levels) but it also refers at the hero's mind and he is slowly become crazy, also there is another reference in the ending but thats a surprise you will have to play until the end to see it. Warning this game is made like old school games so it is extremely hard to play...

WASD to move, Space to Jump, left click to attack and Escape to pause. Joypad are also compatible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#507Audio2.85
#566Mood2.98
#782Humor2.13
#845Fun2.69
#941Overall2.78
#972Graphics2.52
#1064Theme2.45
#1153Innovation2.15

Comments

RaycoSantana says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Hey this saved the entry without me clicking on save, how can I edit it? I think the web player is not working

RaycoSantana says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

There fixed, sorry folks no web build, can get it to work, will port it later...

RaycoSantana says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

cant*

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

It literally is what it says: Old school action sidescroller. Hard as hell, but that's a good thing. I had fun dying and screaming like the Angry video game nerd.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

Cool one, really enjoy plaing it!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

Eerie and scary!

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Water is that kind of instakilling one. Good little game overall.

RaycoSantana says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

Thanks all for the comments, I fixed the web build so now you dont need to download to play!

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Dude, this is castlevania on nightmare

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Cool game. The music randomly got loud? Weird choice of controls too. Why mouse click if the aiming isnt mouse based? Still fun though!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

old school!
bad ass & tough

RaycoSantana says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07am

@Custard Games: you can also use CTR to attack, I just thought the classic WASD + mouse was more confortable than using the arrows plus CTR and Space. Also Joypads are compatible too.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice castlevania parody :D Hard as hell but still i enjoyed this one XD

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

haha nice

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Really cool! Reminds me a lot of the original Castlevania :)
It feels like this one is even more unforgiving :D
It would have been nice to have a screen with the controls somewhere, as I did not discover the "CTRL to attack" one myself (read it in the comments here after failing hard with the touchpad on my laptop).

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

LOLOLOLOLOL That;s all I have to say

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice game, very old school feel.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

The game got a bit hard for me, so I can only speak about the very beginning of the first level. So I don't know much about the story that would unravel, but it looks promising.

Now instead to why it got hard, and some small things that would improve that.

First: controls. I would have liked an alternative controls so I could have arrows to run around and X and C for jump and shoot. In other words have controls for both left and right handed.

Second, jumping. If you add a short period after player actually leaves ground allowing jump as it will feel more "right" and along with what is expected in controls. Also relating to jumping. As the player looses jump-force when bouncing against a wall or whipping it is impossible to get two blocks up if jumping up against them. I haven't solved jumping in unity myself when doing unity games, but my best solution is to have 0 friction and let player-speed decrease manually by some decay-factor when not forward is pressed.

And finally, easier to start, to have more safe time to get to know the controls and enemies before getting killed over and over by them... it is kind of hardcore at the moment.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

I wish I could crouch. A good show, all told!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:38am

Nice castlevania clone, a good amount of work for 48h. But why having a recoil ?? It's not a fire weapon, it's supposed to be a whip and it doesnt bring anything to the gameplay I think.

Pete_H says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Hugely addictive and you were right when you said old school. Really enjoyed this. I did find the controls slightly sticky!

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Good Castlevania-like game :) Feel like ghoul and ghost :) Nice game.

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Psychedelic atmosphere!

Loneshark says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The flaming skull on level two pushed me into the ground and I got stuck!

It's good to see a fellow Castlevania fan!

Loneshark says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

So I got really far on level 3, then I died to an invisible projectile(?) sometime after the flaming skull riders (as I like to call them), went to restart the level but ACCIDENTALLY clicked on main menu >=(

Also, mouse-click is a terrible idea for using the whip!

I realize you only had 48 hours and did a superb job given the circumstances, but my left hand index and pointer fingers are killing me. I'm book-marking this for when I have my joypad later so I can unleash my full capabilities.

RaycoSantana says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

@Loneshark: Hey thanks for playing! yes there is a bug on the graphics on level 3 and the projectiles are invisible, the game is not much longer is 3 levels long and a boss (which is pretty stupid, is just a face on a wall that shoots projectiles) didn't had time for more, however fear not because I'm actually remaking the game with more levels and better graphics!

borrismoose says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:14am

It sure is a toughy! I enjoyed the music, what did you use to create it?

RaycoSantana says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

@borrismoose I used an online generator called abundant-music.com then I used FL studio to convert the midi into MP3s as Unity doesn't like midis.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]