Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dive Deep

by skppo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dive deep into the sea with your trusty yellow submarine. Avoid wildlife and defend yourself when needed. What lurks at the bottom?

Having trouble?
Cheat by pressing H and heal your submarine.

Tool used: Unity, Gimp, bfxr.net
Looking at the source is strongly adviced against as it can cause physical pain on people who actually can code properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#224Fun3.46
#316Theme3.54
#360Overall3.38
#536Graphics3.19
#550Humor2.44
#748Mood2.78
#786Audio2.29
#887Innovation2.62
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I can not pass that evil submarine, since i get there low on health.
Pretty cool! :D

*Sorry for typos

skppo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

You get cheap shots when the submarine is moving in and out of the screen. If you still have trouble, cheat by pressing H and heal yourself ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

Nice one!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Nice! It was a challenge, and the graphics and sound were all consistent and smooth! Wish I would've read the comments and saw the H cheat haha

eastes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:42am

One of the most fun games I've played today.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice and simple, not easy though. I had difficulties estimating how my health was doing (since it just fades). A percentage text or equivalent would help here. Also, nice graphic style :) Well done!

Catman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59am

Nice, didn't know the yellow submarine had torpedos! I didn't expect the mini-boss fights, so that was welcomed.

TheGameFather says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:00am

It's a fun game. Though the mechanic is simple, recognizing the movement patterns and dodge, but you have made it so interesting to do this over and over again :)

May 1, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really lovely looking game, excellent choice of colours. i enjoyed the gameplay too (i killed the shark but didn;t last long against the swordfish). the life remaining was hard to determine, as suggested above a % of reducing size would be more clear.

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:04am

I found the control a bit weird (the left-right, not the top-bottom).
The shark is very hard to beat (fast),
but once passed, it is quite fun, I like the different layers (levels) in the game you put in, and also the graphics.
The evil submarine is quite challenging.

Cheers

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:30am

The amount of different enemy-mechanis, especially the bossfiggts, is impressive. I had a lot of fun playing this. Good Job!

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27am

That was very fun, the slippery controls added challenge to it, nice job!

wicht says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:35am

Nice entry, cool boss fights, was fun playing through. And thanks for the H key ;)

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:34am

Very charming, great fun!

OddballDave says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:10am

This was fun and I really like the graphics. The controls felt a little too floaty to me, but all round a decent effort.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:44am

Nice that there are different boss fights with different tactics, but they are quite challenging! The rest fells more like a filler, but without it it also would feel strange.
Well done.

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:47am

Wow I was really impressed by this. First impressions this didn't look very good, but the progression and bosses were really nice! I died on the third one :( I think some music and a bit better first impression and screenshots would help this game alot.

Shigor says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

Pretty good! Got killed by the second sub :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]