Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Showdown at the O.K. Coral

by Kashaar - Jam Entry

Overview:
You are the greatest collector crab in the world. Truly, other crabs bow before your collecting prowess. However, word of your riches has reached the school of Evil Fish. They are coming to raid your cave. Defend your home from their murderous hordes using any means necessary. If any of them breach your sanctum, you lose!

Gameplay:
You are a COLLECTOR CRAB set on defending his stash from the EVIL FISH. You are willing to use any and all means necessary. This includes sticking other undersea life to your back and forcing them to fight your enemies for you! Use the A and S keys to move left and right, and the W key to jump. You can fire your weapons by pressing SPACEBAR or LEFT CLICK on the mouse (Hold down for constant fire). You will start with a single BARNACLE GUN on the ground next to you. COLLECT IT and prepare to defend yourself! Upgrade your shell with more BARNACLE GUNS, or if you're lucky, you'll find a friendly ELECTIC EEL to help shock your enemies into submission! Hold out against the hordes as long as you can.

It's your home, you have to defend it.


About us:
We were a team of 3, making this with Unreal Engine 4. Pardon the bugs...

UPDATE: Gamebreaking bug discovered, no enemies spawn. So, uh... yeah. We're gonna fix that after some sleep!
UPDATE 2: Fixed! Reuploading now.


Known Issues:

If you get a "missing msvcr120.dll" error, try again after you install the Visual C++ redistributables for Windows from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#244Humor(Jam)2.89
#255Fun(Jam)3.20
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#305Graphics(Jam)3.55
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10
#373Mood(Jam)3.06
#445Audio(Jam)2.89
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

Good job on nailing the theme! The atmosphere is well done!

Kashaar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

Thanks :)

In other news, we just discovered a gamebreaking bug - fish don't spawn at all. D'oh! >_<
But since I have had only 12h of sleep since Friday morning, I'm going to maybe take a look at that tomorrow or the day after if my colleagues don't get to it before then :)

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Wtf did I just play.






It was fun! 5 stars innovation.

mvrck says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

Thank you! It was a ton of fun to make!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

Couldn't run, missing msvcr120.dll

Kashaar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15am

Ah, Petra tells me that you need to install the Microsoft Visual C++ packages: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

That should fix it! I'll add a comment to that effect to the description.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

Had to play this one just for the punny title... you should note that it's the x86 redistributable people need, not the x64 one. Fun! I lasted a bit over 2min.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32am

This crab is all out of gum.

Fun game, and nice shading. I'm curious though: once you're all geared up, is there anything that can even hope to get through a constant barrage?

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42am

Well, seems I played the first Unreal Engine 4 Game of my life. So, it is of course the best Unreal Engine 4 game I have ever played. :)
Nice and smooth presentation, apart from the title font. Perfect sound and ambience.
Feels very polished.

We also did an underwater game.
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=3707
Shows how much those can differ. ;)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

So far I've seen box sim, worm sim and more or less (also now) a crab sim.

Innovative and fun!

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Awesome! I really liked this, sweet title and atmosphere, graphics were top! Good job :) !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Can't play, even the menu doesn't load well =(

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Foolish mortal fish! You are no match for (minature) giant enemy crab!

mvrck says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Jacques, what are your system specs? Obviously we did zero optimization given the time constraints, but I was still surprised that it would barely play on my Bootcamped Retina at work today. I'm going to see what I can about possibly improving some performance for less powerful machines.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Crazy game!

You can bundle msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll with the game yourselves, don't you know? Just search your computer for it! I had this problem with my LD game too. :)

Kashaar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Didn't know that, Gwinnell - this is pretty much our first game release ever ;) Good to know, thanks!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

Looks like it works only with the x86 version of the C++ packages. x64 does not work

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04am

Fun at the beginning, but getting too easy after a while.
Fantastic graphics and effects.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:35am

I can't play. The menu constantly pauses for about 3 seconds then shows one updated frame.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Installed the Visual C++ redistributables and still can't play..

lajos says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:43am

can't run game, missing msvcr120.dll

Kashaar says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:14pm

lajos, GreatBigJerk, make sure you download the x86 version of the Visual C++ redist packages linked in the description, not the x64 version!

TeamFlare says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:28am

couldn't launch the game because msvcr120.dll was missing

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Wow, most beautiful game I played! It runs so smooth, transitions are amazing, nice job with that. Great mood!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]