Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hollow Planet

by Akz- - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A platformer where you control a tiny alien with gravity-flipping powers.

Controls:
Left+Right arrows or A+D: Move left and right
Up or W: Jump
Down or S: Drill into the ground

Desktop version requires Java to run.

My first attempt at Ludum Dare! I'm quite pleased that I got the thing submitted, even though there's not all that much content in the game. Next time I'll try not to spend a day fixing bugs in collision detection :)

I used LibGDX, Paint.NET, Tiled and Bfxr to create this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#110Innovation3.84
#143Fun3.61
#147Theme3.77
#199Overall3.59
#536Humor2.46
#566Graphics3.16
#619Mood2.92
#704Audio2.48

Comments

rallebauz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Fun mechanics! I'm not gonna lie I had trouble with these puzzles

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Woooo! That was F.U.N.

Great game mechanics. I completed it. Took me a while to figure out what I had to do on the third level. But was a lot of fun when I got it, made the whole thing more daredevilish. Great platform puzzler.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Fun game with creative mechanics! Well done!

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

A really great spinoff on the theme. You kept the game very simple (which i sadly didn't do for my libgdx game!) and that means it is really effective, well done!

NathanBrower says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Really great job! Took me a while on the third level as well, but it was really rewarding when I figured it out. I would have liked to see more levels and music.

Also, my game shares the same mechanic as yours, check it out! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34369

S├ębastien says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I like the concept !

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

This bent my mind, but when you get the hang of it, the level design makes the game flow really intuitive. Needs more polish on the camera movement and controls, but otherwise great!

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

fun mechanics - a mix between VVVVVV and fez :)

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

great concept !!!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Interesting platform mechanic, and good use of the theme.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Really neat idea.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

pretty nice idea, cool controls
overall very good

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31am

Challenging!

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

nice mechanics.. quite hard puzzles..

Belvar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Cool game, really dynamic and interesting gameplay. The graphics looks good to!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Really cool mechanic. and pretty fun.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Cool use of the theme!

Cash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Good job,the lack of music made it feel a little "empty" but I still had fun

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Nice work, feels quite polished due to innovate mechanics and proper level design! Level design is one of the tricky things on LD, IMHO. Small pickings would be that sometimes the drilling is too "sensitive", and the hitbox on the enemies are a bit big.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really fun game-mechanics and charming pixel graphics! :)

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Nice interpretation of the theme! I love the side switching mechanic, really fun and nice graphics too :)

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

At first I thought this was another 'change gravity' game, but you took more out of the concept than I thought! The levels really make me think.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:29pm

At first I was like: meh, just a decent polished take on the side switching games.

But then I discovered the through-ground-jumping mechanics and the fact that you can actually kill the enemies and I was like: SUPER AWESOME :)

Really, I WANT MORE!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:45pm

This was a really interesting mechanic. You maybe should have made the "jump through" mechanic more obvious, as I only discovered it after reading through the comments. Also you might want to add the ability to cancel digs, as I ended up quitting after accidentally digging on the wrong square too many times. Reminds me of Ibb and Obb.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:21am

I had trouble accidentally drilling through to the bottom and dying, but it's a great concept and a fun game!

May 20, 2014 @ 12:24am

Some of the puzzles were challenging! Great work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]