Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Finna

by Michael Grand - Jam Entry

Guide a sprout out of the ground so that it can become a flower. Watch out for boulders!

Left, Right, and Up arrow keys to move. Collect money bags to increase your score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Theme(Jam)4.00
#47Fun(Jam)3.78
#80Audio(Jam)3.81
#224Overall(Jam)3.44
#418Innovation(Jam)2.89
#609Graphics(Jam)2.72
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I like the mechanics and it feels nice to be trying to escape from beneath the surface.
It's very cute when you do make it to the top to see the flower bloom.

Michael Grand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Thanks EpiphanyG! :D

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Eating money is fun ;)

miotatsu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

I love it! A creative take on the theme, awesome music and sound effects, and a nice addicting mini-game feel to it.

Michael Grand says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I'm glad you think so, MintArcade :)

Thanks Mio! :D

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:16am

Interesting twist on the classic snake game. Some of those money bags were devilishly hard to get, and I died on the last level twice. Overall it's a solid entry.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Hah, love that silly sprout gathering mula!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Love the concept and the gameplays fun! Good job

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:38pm

This game is so much fun! It takes me back to playing snake on my first nokia =) music is cool too. and difficulty level is perfect, not so hard it gets annoying, yet hard enough that I want to try again. good job!

BooleanByte says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Plant needs minerals. Fun :)
Died a lot before i got past level 2, just to die right away at level 3 :P

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

It's a nice idea, and it's pretty fun for a minute or so. But the bags of money are really out of place... I'm not sure if that was supposed to be funny or what but it would make more sense if you were collecting something that plants need, like pockets of water or nutrients. It could also use more of a challenge, like if whatever resource you're collecting is used up over time so you have to balance following an efficient route to the surface vs going out of your way to collect more nutrients/water.

littleball says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Addictive game!

Erkberg says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice snake-like game, I like the gameplay mechanic and the sounds and music are really good.

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Simple but addictive gameplay, I like it.

Loneshark says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

My final score was 570
(I found myself forgetting about money and preoccupied solely with survival by stage 5)

shadow64 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:27am

I think it's a great idea. I liked the flower bloom aspect and the music is pretty solid as well. I think it's a really cool/different take on Snake, so well done there, too.

My only complaint would be to figure out something other than money. It's a little weird that a flower is collecting money to grow. I'm not sure why that's happening and not water or something more normal. Just a thought, but the game is a lot of fun. Well done!

Thanks for sharing and thank you again for playing and rating my game! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]