Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SurfaceDare

by Skabunkel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm well aware of how short it is, and the lack in quality, I'm sorry.

Contolls:
A,D,left,right arrow to move, when you enter water the way you move changes and A,D,left,right arrow Moves forward (Reason is a hilarius bug) and W,S,up,down rotats the character.
Esc quits;

when you "finnish" this the games shuts off.

The initiall idea for this was a person with the power to turn into a fish but that turned into a man with super swimming powers, it was supposed to be a puzzle platformer but well, I hope you can find some enjoyment in it.

Edit: 2014-05-07
Well this is awkward... i built linux and Mac versions but i didn't upload them... or link them... Good.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#185Humor3.18
#777Graphics2.82
#807Fun2.74
#997Mood2.45
#1002Theme2.60
#1014Audio1.57
#1015Innovation2.42
#1146Overall2.49

Comments

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

It's really nice, obviously a small game and unfinished but no need to apologize so much...

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

Controls are kinda funky... And its very very short...

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

This was hilariously bonkers. Couldn't control the swimmer at all, actually laughed out loud at one point. Finished it though!

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

Haha! Okay so the fish controls are kinda hard but I did get the hang of it eventually! It's a shame it didn't work out - I really like the atmosphere and the graphics. Maybe add a bit more today and submit to the jam?

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

I really liked the graphical feel to it - the character reminded me of the Canadians in Southpark. Good!

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

Short but enjoyable. It took a while to figure out how to move in the water but once you knew it it felt a bit like QWOP with equally as hilarious things happening when you failed. Smooth graphics. Good job!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22pm

lol at first I had no idea what I was doing, but pretty soon I discovered the ability to swim up so hard that you wind up in the upper atmosphere, which is pretty fun.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Good aesthetic. I love rocketing myself up on the side of the level. :)

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Hehe, I had no idea what I just experienced. But I managed to madly twirl myself towards freedom. Like someone said, the wacky controls have a QWOP like feeling and the simple graphics work ok :)

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Humor 5/5

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I learned the way of the rotating swimmer, controls pretty good when you have learned them. Awesome job

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Good aesthetic, short and sweet, the controls could use a wee bit more work considering how funky they are but not a bad submission!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I thought the graphics worked really well for this game. I think you could have also capitalized on the controls with some sort of obstacle course, but you can save that for another jam. Once I figured out how to move, going through the tunnel was neat. That would have been a great spot to add some narrative.

eckcz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

loved the animations :D

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:20am

Interesting controls, a bit confusing though pressing Right when you want to go left under water.

Teesquared says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

The character movement is hilarious. It was short but I enjoyed it.

Hammervuis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

Good job!

stenol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:48am

A little short but it's a pretty fine game ! Gratz

urisensei says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:53am

It was a bit hard to control the character but I found it just added to the humor. Good effort.

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:38pm

A start of something! Good job with the animations, controls need working on. I had fun !

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:57pm

One serious LOL ;) Very hard to control underwater, but who cares - it hilarious.

Skabunkel says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:12am

I clearly need to pay more attention to this page, i will be surveying the comments everyday to see if something is broken.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I really liked the animation of the character! In the water I had no idea what I was doing, the controls are too crazy, but it was fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]