Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishy's Daring Escape

by rberiot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires an Xbox controller to play

edit: as requested I ported controls to keyboard

move/swim = arrow keys
jump = space
restart = enter
reset = backspace

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

pixelpig says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

you should try extending the playability to people without an xbox controller :L looks great though and would love to play if I had a remote :(

HagraEnve says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

It's awesome and thanks to source I finally know how to use xbox controller :)

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

thanks! i really liked your game as well, really slick, fluid gameplay and controls! great job!

rberiot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

thanks for all your comments,

I just ported it to keyboard controls, didn't realise it would put people off.

Cell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Soothing, fishes. (great game, love the 2d sprite effect)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Fun game. Really like the plot/idea.

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:25am

Quite good fun - I held my breath the first time I jumped out of the water. I initially felt the controls could do with some tuning .. then again, you are a slippery fish, so maybe they are just right. In terms of time allocation over the 48 hours - I would have ditched one or two of the powerups and spent that time extending the level to include a few more interesting challenges. That of course is easy for me to say now as an outside observer, having had a good nights sleep and time to reflect :)

BooleanByte says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Funny, like the plot of tha game

May 7, 2014 @ 2:43am

Short, but a good start of a platformer. Effective use of minimal graphics.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]