Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Ninja

by nicotoni - Jam Entry

* Description
-------------=

You are a ninja, exploring an old temple beneath the surface.
You will use your agility and your sword to complete your tests.

* Controls
----------=

QD / AD : Move
ZS / WS : Look up / Look down
Space : Jump
Left click : Sword (press and release to maximise your strength)
Right click : Slide
E : Switch world
R : Restart the level

Tools
-----=

Construct 2, Fruity Loops

I tried to enter the 48h contest but couldn't do it, so here's my Jam entry.
It features original graphics, code and 3 original musics made during this weekend.
I recommend you to test the story mode first.

Thank you for trying my game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Fun(Jam)3.20
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#365Graphics(Jam)3.40
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#540Humor(Jam)2.14
#578Mood(Jam)2.68
#589Innovation(Jam)2.54
#627Theme(Jam)2.56
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

Woah, super loud at the start! luckily I have my volume low otherwise I would have probably gone def :( Other than that the gameplay is challenging and fun, graphics are good, and the music afterwards sounds decent.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00am

It is a fun game with nice music. I did not feel the hit was charged when released. Still fun to beat the souls with a big sword.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

I think it's my first time to see a game with two game mods. Nice

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Great game and really satisfying to jump around. Nice touch having an adventure and story mode.

nicotoni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

MarsBar > I didn't realise the volume was so loud, in fact I don't see any problem with it atm but I can understand the first sound can surprise. Thanks for the comment !

Thorig > Yeah, I like big swords too. I added the damage text to make the charged hit feel more powerful, but I agree with you, I should have added an other sound or something like that.

StrykerKKD > Thank you, I felt that the two levels of the story mode were too short, and I liked the jump and sword feeling so I added this survival mode to have fun with it.

SecondDimension > Thank you ! I'm happy you found the jump satisfying, I really tried to achieve that.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

The controls are a bit weird. It's an interesting game, and I could see this having tons of "trippy" stuff.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Sound is too loud and intro is not quite that expected for a platform game (but why not). Well done!

pLaw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Quite a good game. Good atmosphere and music. Only thing I'd complain about is the jump mechanic which felt a bit restricting because you cannot contol your jump height.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice graphics.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Enjoyable platformer controls, though I didn't feel the slide worked as well as it could perhaps. Good entry though. :)

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:33pm

very cool ninja platfomer :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Really liked the feel of the game before the first enemy appeared. Couldn't for the heck of it kill him. Just too hard an enemy for the beginning.

But the feel of the physics is really great. Not sure about the theme though, but would probabaly be more obvious later on, I guess.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:41am

This platformer has a really excellent sense of physics to it--a real heaviness that most slip-slidey platformers don't have, let alone those made in 72 hours. It was fun and felt good just to run around as the character. That said, that's where I found most of my enjoyment. The world was drab and fairly featureless, and since the zoom didn't cover the entire stage, I often found myself disoriented and struggling to figure out where to go next.

I've seen the world switching mechanic a lot of places--Guacamelee, Eversion, Giana Sisters, countless others--but this is the first time I've seen it with a time limit, which effectively controls the amount of time the player has to complete a particular platforming segment. This was a clever touch, and one which I think, if it were carefully designed to, could produce a very interesting and crafted experience.

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Loved the graphics and the player movement, especially that auto wall-jump. Wish there were arrow-key controls!

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Good job on this, although I was quite horrible since I don't play all that many platformers. Played the story mode almost exclusively zoomed out :P. Lovely climbing mechanic, although a bit slow. Didn't really like the combat but still tried the survival mode too, since you managed to include it!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:50am

Pretty cool. Wish there were alternative controls for the mouse clicks since it makes it extra challenging to play on a laptop without one.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

Very cool platformer! I like the controls and how you worked with the camera

May 17, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Hard to control on a non-qwerty layout.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]