Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Candorem

by slumber - Jam Entry

CANDOREM

Goal: To vanquish the shadows below and bring light to the world beneath the surface!
Controls:
Move Left : A
Move Right : D
Jump : SPACE
Attack: ENTER

Features:

-Side scrolling platform game
-Single Health/Energy Bar which limits health and energy for attacks. {Spamming attack will kill you}
-Projectile attacks
-Several enemies with unique movements and abilities
-Boss style progression
-Beams of light from above to restore Health/Energy Bar


Created by Slumber Studios

Jacob Kosterman - Game design/programming
Peter Cresmasco - Game design/programming
Mark Ruggle - Game design/programming
Dylan Stahl - Music/SFX
Jamie Robinson - Music/SFX
Doug Melanson - Art


Visit us @ www.slumberstudios.com


Created with: Gamemaker Studio, Particle Designer, BFXR, Logic Pro 8, and Paint.NET

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#334Graphics(Jam)3.48
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#461Fun(Jam)2.82
#477Theme(Jam)2.95
#478Overall(Jam)3.04
#566Mood(Jam)2.71
#592Humor(Jam)1.94
#637Innovation(Jam)2.41
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

ughh!! I keep falling off the edge right under that big ghost after the first yellow health checkpoint!! I must be getting too tired, will have to try to beat it again in the morning (I feel like this is something I should be able to do!!)

The menus after the reset are really annoying. Be nice to either use keyboard instead of mouse clicks to navigate or to reset within the level (preferably at a yellow checkpoint, perhaps I didn't get far enough to find a checkpoint though).

The graphics (background especially) and lighting are really nice. Great job on the special effects, especially the shots. The music is cutesy but doesn't fit overly well :P Great job guys!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32am

In the future you might give controls a bit more though, right now the layout is a bit odd. Also using mouse for the menu and keyboard for the actual game would work if not for having to use enter as your attack button.

The sprites and background are really nice, but the floor tiles are a bit bland and repetitive. The latter goes for the music too.

Still a solid entry, congrats!

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34pm

The shared health/energy pool is an interesting concept, really challenging! On the other hand, I think the control layout could be better, especially by changing the attack key. Great job!

01F0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Fun game! It kept me want to continue playing (grinding :D ). I think you nailed the theme. The atmosphere is cosy.

There is a place where I got stuck/glitched which forced me to wait to be killed by the enemies. That's the only negative feedback I have, great entry otherwise. Cheers!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

The health/ammo being the same is a cool idea. The game looks nice, and I liked the jolly music. However, it was frustrating to have to start over when I fell through some of the gaps. (I am not very good at games. :P)

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Not bad looking game, controls are wonky and its very easy to get stuck on top of a spikey ghost and not able to move :(

FGM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Good game. I like the graphics and music. The only complaint I have it the controls. A + D + SPACE is just a strange combination and I had a hard time getting used to it.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice game. The control combination seemed a bit odd though. A quick button press to restart the game would be cool too. I definitely see what you were going for with the dark moody cave however. Nice mood. Good work.

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Too much flying stuff, controls are not very responsive and it wasn't such a good idea to hide that beautiful background under the filter. Also using enter to shoot is unintuitive. Aside from that I had some fun with it.

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:43am

Once I saw that the rays of light healed my character, I was into this game. I always like a good platformer, and the ability to shoot projectiles gives me a Megaman vibe. Simple and fun. :)

slumber says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Thanks for the all the comments guys. This was our first game jam and we had a ton of fun. The real value for us has been the constructive criticisms of what worked and what didn't in our comment section, so thanks again.

Looking forward to the next dare!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]