Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Take a breath!

by SHAME - Jam Entry

There are no specific victory conditions: it's all about surviving in order to collect as many red diamonds as you can.

You can only breathe underwater. When over the surface you lose oxygen (first bar). To refill it, just jump again into water.

The game is divided in sections. Each section consists of collecting 4 red diamonds in 5 seconds (second bar). If you fail the level of the water will decrease, making the next sections harder to play as you probably will have to spend more time out of water.

Sometimes a green diamond spawns: when you collect it the level of the water increases.

Enjoy!

------

POST-COMPO VERSION (website: http://ebruni.net/take-a-breath) with:
- Play Again button;
- Three levels. Each level is somehow more difficult than the previous one.
- Best scores at http://ebruni.net/take-a-breath/ranking.php
- Please suggest more improvements!

Learning how to move in the post-compo version is very important. For instance, pressing UP when falling from a platform without having jumped from it will result in a small jump. This can speed up the transition from a platform to another, especially when they are relatively close to each other and more or less at the same height.

------

Authors: Emanuele Bruni and Shamila Boffo
Programmed by Emanuele Bruni (Processing + Hermes)
Graphics and Music by Shamila Boffo (Photoshop, Aria Maestosa)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#303Theme(Jam)3.29
#422Audio(Jam)2.94
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#441Fun(Jam)2.88
#497Mood(Jam)2.84
#529Innovation(Jam)2.67
#548Overall(Jam)2.90
#568Graphics(Jam)2.84

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

Fun little game, Nice use of the theme. Audio was fun and fit your game. Good work!

valgriz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31am

Pretty good game! I like the color scheme and the background music.
A "replay" button would have been nice though. Besides that I really like it.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Nice job. The purple theme was quite unique, and the controls are nice and responsive. I'd like to see a level or two more though. Solid entry :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39am

The game has really interesting mechanics though I felt like making it harder when you fail just makes it a reinforcing cycle of doing badly and then doing worse because it became harder.

Had a lot of fun trying to beat the clock though!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09am

Nice music, didn't find a way to restart. Was entertaining good job!

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

Simple but fun risk-reward mechanic.

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Good little game.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Interesting concept and visual style, I had fun. Great job! :)

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Cute game! Could sort of feel the theme while playing. Slowly less and less water.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Not bad. It was pretty fun. Needs a restart button though.

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

Cute little game, and nice job working in Processing! How did you end up creating the runnable jar with Processing, since the latest version only exports for the current system?

SHAME says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13am

Thanks everyone! Ok, I'm going to work on the play again button, to introduce some level-based mechanism and to try to give more chances to survive when the level of the water becomes too low. Maybe I'll also introduce a victory condition.

@KevinWorkman: I'm using SvgExe. Since I'm not using OS-specific libraries I guess my game works on every system for which a JVM is provided, but I think (though not sure) you could use SvgExe to import them in the jar. :)

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Good job on the music and graphics :)

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

A fun yet simple game, I liked the idea of staying in the water as opposed to staying out of it, which is usually a cliche in games, and it does fit the theme.
note: the music doesn't loop.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice game, surprisingly clever with being able to take risks and grab the gems above the surface. Cute graphics and sound. Like it!

mutilator says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:09pm

It is a fun game. The character art is really neat. The audio fit the game, but I felt that there could be better music to it. Good use of the theme!

tuxxilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Funny game :)

FGM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

That was actually really hard. I like the idea.

This is just a suggestion, since it will change the gameplay, but since accuracy and timing are pretty key here, maybe you can try to have the fish jump as long as the jump button is held so you don't jump to maximum height all the time.

Muciojad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:21am

Isn't working for me on Win7 Enterprise - after double click nothing happens. :) I want so much to play it ;]

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Congratulations, well polished game for a short development time. Were there levels and goals, this would be an even better entry, but I guess there's so much we can do in a jam :). Maybe a post-compo version? ;)

garygreen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Really nice graphics & I liked the twist of the falling water level. Nice one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]