Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Square Adventure

by MentaL13 - Jam Entry

Description
A square tries to figure out why the world is all in squares and gray colors, and where to look if not in a secret underground facility. The truth lies just beneath the surface.

Note from developer
Didn't had much time because of work so the game is pretty short, but stil I am proud that I finished it :) At it's core I wanted to create a mashup between Tomas Was Alone and Super Meat Boy. Oh and yea there is no sound... at all, so don't think that you turned off the volume or something.

Controls:
arrow/wasd - move
spacebar - jump
r - restart from checkpoint

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#444Innovation(Jam)2.83
#510Mood(Jam)2.82
#525Overall(Jam)2.95
#634Graphics(Jam)2.63
#675Theme(Jam)2.32
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

person124 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

That was annoying, but it was that "fun" type of annoying where you just wanted to try again and again. Except in the first level with the lazers, that was just frustrating because if you landed on the platform on one of your points, you would die.

madalaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Very Cool although very hard. Not bad for a game made in an even shorter time than most entries. =)

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Pretty good! Would be better with sound!

I got a little frustrated at a few points. First off, I didn't realize you could jump to slide up walls. Secondly, I didn't know you could double jump, so getting the red key in the last level was annoying.

But good game!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:48pm

very fun to play, nice game flow. Its hard, but you dont lose too much if you die, so it doesnt punish you too hard. Liked it a lot, played for 20 minutes :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:43am

The sticking to walls felt a little odd but the control scheme and physics overall seemed really good. If I died it never felt like it was the game's fault, it felt like i was my own lack of dexterity or quickness. Very cool level designs too!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:10am

The idea is great, graphics are minimalist but quite awesome because it contributes to a nice atmosphere and helps a lot to focus on the game (because it is a plateformer),

I was a bit frustrated by the square rotation motion, why is it rotated counterwise whatever I press left or right? I think it kill a lot the gameplay.

Hippolyta says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:23am

Visuals and Controles are good. I felt kinda lost when i jumped into a hole in the ground without knowing if i will die - some sort of sign would have made me feel more comfortable. Can get a little bit too frustrating but has a big replay value.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Love the jumping mechanic, and the graphics

cirpig29 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Liked it - especially the idea of the "lonely square". My daughter (10) liked it too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]