Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hair Spirit Adventure

by messthem team - Jam Entry

LATEST UPDATE: Did some enemy tuning, now they attack like they should. Adjusted colliders, so you won't die if you don't actually touch them. Btw - if you jump on them from above - they die :)

* Fixed character stuck bug! Shouldn't occur anymore :) Some load errors still shows up sometimes, now will work to fix that :)
* managed to make game almost 3x "lighter"... should fix most of load errors... :) I have few ideas how to optimize it even more, so there will be some more updates regarding that soon :)
* added "back to menu" button in game over screen
* tuned character controls

trying to fix boss dialogue... while it doesn't work - avoid him and when your buddy freeze him, click on it to do damage.... repeat 4 times :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#196Graphics(Jam)3.84
#428Humor(Jam)2.42
#564Fun(Jam)2.61
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#572Mood(Jam)2.70
#620Audio(Jam)2.01
#668Innovation(Jam)2.30
#718Theme(Jam)2.07

Comments

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

unity loading error

VividReality says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

The graphics are nice but I found it quite hard to play because the controls we hard to master.

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I'm also getting the unity loading error. It says "Failed to download data file". It doesn't say what file though :\

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Download failed :(

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Very nice graphics, but the controls were difficult.

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I failed to load twice, with it saying "download error, please retry". Your guys unity file must be pretty big, as it's taking minutes for me to download it.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

unity loading error here too

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Player takes a looong time to load. Is it set to be streamed? If you change it to streamed you many want to add the programming to make sure the next level is downloaded before it advances

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Wow. Beautiful game! Probably the most visually pleasing game I have rated so far!=) I wish I didn't have to start all the way over when I died though:(

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

i love the grphics but i need to refresh the page every time i die :/

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18pm

"Bad file length."

Didn't load for me either :'( You should include source

GarrickWinter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Also getting a Unity loading error. Looks nice in the screenshots, though! Hopefully you get it working better soon!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

:( not working

messthem team says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Now it should work!

stenol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

Very nice graphics. Good little game in general. Good work :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

Attacks did not work on the second fairy-thing. I got a game-over, and when I restarted the character was unable to move (the move animations worked, but the character itself remained in place.)

Guess I'm gonna wait for an update before rating.

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49am

Really cool! I wasn't able to finish it, but I love the look of the art. The colors and the backgrounds are amazing. It could definitely use some more lenient checkpointing for how hard it is, and some sound.

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very Nice Graphics

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Unity loading error. The screenshot looks awesome, really wanted to play it!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

Evil fairies :( Nice visuals, I wasn't able to hear any sounds if there were any. Great work overall!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

Awesome graphics. The gameover screen really cracked me up.

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

Unity Error :S I'll go back later to see if I can play it.
Screenshot looks really good, I can say lot of time spent on graphics ;). Too long loading time also

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

Very vivid visuals.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:03am

I enjoyed the intro text quite a bit. Looking forward to some music!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

Very fluffy graphics. The controls are what made me unable to have patience to finish it though. With the way my hands were positioned it would have felt more natural to use the space bar to jump.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06am

Fun and well put together, but the controls and character movement feels a bit loose.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

Hard to play, although graphics are very nice.

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

No audio? Liked the graphics, except you could improve the GUI. Nice little game.

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

It was a little bit hard to control your character, controls need to be tightened up some.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

Sweet graphics! Great job. It'd be way more fun with a gamepad. I couldn't get the hang of the controls.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

Very nice Lorax vibe with the story and the visuals. Unfortunately my attacks had no effect on the buff fairies, so I couldn't get very far. Also there's a weird bug where if I start the game over after I lose I'm stuck at the very first spawn point unable to move.

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57am

Looked nice, hard to control though

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28am

Nice looking game, but really missed the music and the controlls also i would make the jumps a bit easier in the beginning

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47am

Awesome how much love you put in your story and world design. This hairy creatures are just adorable. I myself sucked at jumping so I did not get very far^^ Would have loved to see the evil creature. Cool entry!

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:22am

awesome vivid art style and interesting back story. Needs audio and my character was unable to move after the second load.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Good game with a bit awkwardness. It seems enemy hitboxes are too big. It was a bit confusing on what you could and could not stand. The visuals look very nice and the atmosphere of the game would be wonderful with a bit of sound and music.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Pretty good art man

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very reminiscent of original Ray-man games, not really seeing the theme though, I did like the visuals but it was hard to tell what was a platform and what wasn't.
Also the lack of audio is a shame.

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Strange, it's working in my firefox ... Graphics are cool, but i'm not shute to see the relation with de theme ^^

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:01am

Controls were a bit difficult and sound would have been nice, hope you add it.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:45am

Failed to start :(

May 1, 2014 @ 7:31am

Works much better now! Thanks!

At times it feels like the camera might be a bit too zoomed-in (last jump before the boss was pretty much a leap of faith), but overall it was fairly intuitive.

Liked the super attack system. Useful, but not overpowered.

Visuals are excellent. With a decent soundtrack, it would make for a great atmosphere. Great idea pushing the "fuzzy" style of the character design to the flora; makes the world feel organic.

Good work!

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52am

graphics and controls were really nice, I liked how fairies were portrayed too

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Graphics is amazing!

hadesfury says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great physic ! And it's cute !

eteeski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I love the artwork!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I liked the graphical style however you may want to try and decrease the contrast and slightly lighten the parts of objects you don't collide with to make it clear to the player what they can jump on to.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice graphics! ;)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:10am

not sure how the theme fits in but it is a good game - it is crying out for cute sounds tho - and the controls need some work to - incredible level work - great effort

MarsBar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:05am

Fun little game, the art style is good and fairly humorous. sadly I'm not sure how this matches with the theme?
If you shrink the collision on the enemies a bit you'd have a way more fun game. Also I didn't hear any audio which was upsetting because I had high hopes for the audio :(

atombrot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Very nice. Reminds me of the old lion king or aladin jump and run games. Made it to the boss, but then did not find out how to kill or event hurt him.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice physics and level design but controls needs some polishing, they dont feel natural. Also I dont see the relation with the theme...

ninjascript says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Incredible art!, Very challenging because the controls feel a little floaty.

petrocket says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:10pm

really fun! Just kind hard? But maybe that's a good thing. Great job!

davidB says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:18pm

hard to control the avatar, jump+gravity+ non flat platform => fall

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really nice look to this game! Collisions and controls were a bit awkward.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:10pm

The art is colorful and pleasing. Jumping is tricky, but manageable. However combat is way too hard when it costs a restart. The enemies need anticipation animations before attacking to give you time to react.

If everyone is a producer... is anyone a producer?

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Can't seem to get this to run - nothing responds on the title screen after the Unity Player finishes loading. Sad, as this looks like it could be fun.

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:25pm

A bit hard to play and the text is not readable. A dark background could help to make the text better readable. The platforms are slippery which makes the jumps really hard. Still a nice entry, because making a platform game is a bit hard in Unity.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:30pm

So much story in front of the game. I would rather play than read through all this text.
The control is very difficult to master.
Nice graphics, but i don't see the connection to the theme. Music and sounds are definetly missing...

Garris says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:18am

Cute game. The controls feel like they need a little more refining, and some more audio would be nice, but the graphics are charming, and well done, and the levels are nicely designed.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:22am

Really wierd but a nice game, good job! :)

May 7, 2014 @ 4:30pm

It looks good but it's a little hard to play. I kept landing right by those big dudes and dying instantly. Awesome trees though.

lucidlarva says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:46am

I got the unity loading error but then refreshed and it worked. Nice graphics, pretty fun.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Wonderful graphics
I reached the boss and died hehe :p

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:05pm

OMG, everything has hair, the trees have hair - those graphics are simply amazing. What did you use to draw all this?

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:01pm

A nice effort on the graphics. Controls were alright with me except for one thing: I may be wrong but I believe you use Input.GetKeyDown("a"), etc, for direction input. The problem with this approach is that you hardcode inout keys and not everybody has a qwerty keyboard. I believe you should use Input.GetAxis("horizontal"), etc, as it alows people with other keyboard layouts to play properly.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice graphics, the controld would be better, the slide effect for the character makes it difficult to 'feel' the controls.

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Woah those hairy things look trippy!

May 16, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Not sure about the theme, enemies were a bit weird imo. Couldn't really understand how to kill them with my normal attack seeing I could never cast it when near an enemy. Graphics were okay, just a lot of ugly edges.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:09am

Miss the music but the graphics are really cool! Nice textures and environment with the colors and background ;) Keep going!

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I keep getting "bad file length"

hyouko says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:31am

A very impressive amount (and quality) of art in this one! I found it rather challenging - couldn't find a way to reliably get past the normal enemies. Also, it seems odd that you apparently can't climb the rope ladder early in the level - was that just not implemented?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]