Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rojan

by Junber - Jam Entry

You are Rojan a skilled sword fighter on his way beneath surfaces to lash vice.

Control:
WASD + Mouse - Move
Space/Enter - Selcect Menu entrys
P - Pause

Graphics by Nijanex

Tools:
Python + Pygame + cx_freeze
Paint.net
autotracker + sfxr

Post-Ludum Dare Changelog:
1.3 - Better level-generation
- Better block-physics
- Fixed bug in tutorial
- Added explination to "Press R" in tutorial
- New icon
- Health-regeneration no longer at spikes-kill
- Screen is no longer one frame too late
- Screen flashes red at death
- Music in menu
- Esc in menu ends game
- Sound for sword-throwing
- Everything move at 1.5 times the speed
- Different win-screens
- Differnet background for ground-level
- Own art for tutorial
- More backgrounds for menu

1.2 - changed movement (even though i like the old one too)
- removed Surface-Screenshot from Menu

1.1 - fixed bug that sometimes let the game crash
- made the time the "Ad" appeared a lot shorter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#581Audio(Jam)2.34
#594Fun(Jam)2.51
#635Innovation(Jam)2.42
#694Mood(Jam)2.21
#713Overall(Jam)2.39
#723Theme(Jam)2.00
#742Graphics(Jam)2.06

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I think with a couple of iterations, you could have a really nice game. Unfortunately right now, the controls are a little buggy and the advertise banner is really annoying.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

This was pretty fun. Cracking up at the Microsoft Surface level.

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Don't put advertisements in your game I didn't underscore it for this time but I played it offline.

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Please, don't put an advertise banner. It's annoying. Beside that, it's a game with a lot of potential.

Junber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

It isnt really an advertisment. It was only ment to be a joke.

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

This game really has a potential to be a really nice game. Good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

these controls man.. i dunno, am i riding a ball while fighting with a sword?

but i played it more than i "should have" so you are definitely on to something : D

good work! i hope to see something from you on the next ludum dare (- :

madalaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Interesting fun but not much to with the theme. Liked the Microsoft Surface/Advertisement Joke

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Interesting game, the concept is good. Controls a bit strange behaving.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Not bad, but a little hard to see the menu text when the background is Surfaceish. Interesting sword throwing mechanic!

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Crashed for me after the first Ground level. Was pretty fun and interesting.
My biggest complaint was the sluggish movement. Felt really laborious.

Knowledge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I get error, but you can post .py file and all pictures(I have Python and PyGame

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Linux version would have been appreciated, especially being a Python game...

Junber says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03pm

@Knowledge: Did you played the Post-Ludum Dare Version? There was a short time where it didnt worked. Both versions now work for me.

@f7f5: If someone using linux with python and pygame would freeze it, i would send him the source so i could post a linux version here.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Wasn't entirely sure what was going on but not a bad game! Liked the music

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45am

Enjoyed the music. Had a laugh at the ad banners :)

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I assume the "your ad here" type stuff was supposed to be ironic? I found the controls super frustrating, and didn't really understand what was going on. The music was pretty cool.

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:58pm

This game is crazy! You had some cool ideas but the controls were a little fiddly. Thanks for attempting to play my game - if you fancied giving it another try it's now fixed for Windows :)

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=18114

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Can't play windows games, can we get a web version?

Junber says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:23pm

@jomomomo: No unfortunately there isnt any browser version of python.

@Tomski, whilefun: Did you play the tutorial?

CiderPunk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:32pm

THIS COULD BE YOUR ADVERTISING!

what does 'r' do? it keeps telling it press it

Junber says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:15am

@CiderPunk: If you press r when it tells you to, your hp will increase.

TomBoogaart says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:51am

haha i enjoyed this

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:24pm

lolol the microsoft surface level. This was pretty good overall. I wish his accel was a little faster though.

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:35pm

While strangely addicting, the randomly spawned enemies sometimes hurt you straight away. Everything was a little hard to see on the MS Surface level, but still quite fun regardless

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Game was surprisingly lots of fun. Skipping text in tutorial due to moving in the end of previous level was pretty annoying, hopefully it'll be fixed in post-LD.

igpollitzer says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

Fun to learn to play. Liked the music!

I've seen the comment you wrote on my game, thank you very much for the criticism, I updated the info to make it easier to understand.

misterwalter says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:19pm

My first left click did not at all meet my expectation of swinging my sword, which I found hilarious. Finding myself suddenly disarmed was a great entry. The whole thing was pretty entertainingly random, though perhaps you should have made it more obvious that the "Your ad here" screen was meant as a joke. I think the graphics are the biggest issue, I had no idea what the wall were at first, and I'm still not sure which is which.
I also feel obligated to mention that I didn't see a connection to the theme...perhaps that was why there was a Microsoft surface level?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]