Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nesty Fall

by cleitoneldorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry. Controls are shown in game. HTML5 game, no plugins necessary. The source file is a Construct 2 capx.

Some people are ith problems fionding the shoot button, it's X.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#356Humor2.75
#548Audio2.79
#626Graphics3.05
#668Fun2.89
#693Overall3.05
#730Mood2.80
#773Innovation2.76
#949Theme2.72

Comments

drstik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Having to sign up for account to play is a bit of a turn off :)

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Age verification and sign-up for an account makes this not really accessible.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Not gonna sign up for an account to play this. Maybe you could move it somewhere else?

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

I really liked your intro, and the mechanics that you put in. Very metroidvania. I also liked how you had to use the abilities to progress. Two things though: first your music needs to be longer. It really can get repetitive. Other sound effects would help that out also. Second, your check point system, while cool, is a tad frustrating. I am talking about a specific point where after falling on top of an old checkpoint, it became my new re-spawn location. I couldn't beat the game because I grew tired of repeating the same loop. It is a really great concept though. Good job.

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

Thanks, I was unaware of that, I'll move to newgrounds.

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

There, problem solved, thanks for the heads up.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

Quite a landing, nice game

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Reminds me of Commander Keen for some reason. Very nice!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Pretty fun. It'd be nice if the character could move faster though, the first couple levels got a bit boring...

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

Cool game! For some reason it reminded me of Pokemon ;)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

Hey! I played a little bit. Unfortunately when I unlocked the gun i couldnt' shoot. So maybe there's a bug somewhere, I'm on chrome.

I think that overall it's a little bit slow. It's great the way things unlock but I found the left/right controls were frustratingly slow. I like how you designed things to be methodical, but it made backtracking and retrying tedious at times.

The graphics are very nice - in particular the main caharacter's animations are great. Overall an awesome 48h game! I'll check back later to see if the shooting bug goes away.

:)

randomdragoon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

It's a pretty nice metroidvania game. Only gripe with it is that some segments are really frustrating, mostly because your character is quite sloooow at accelerating. But nothing that stopped me from beating the game, still quite fun overall.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

It's quite fun! I really like the evolution of the character.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

The evolving of the character was a nice touch!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

It's not bad, but takes a bit long to get going for my tastes. Loved the little "haha" from the devil when he throws his spear though. :-)

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Neat. Little slow paced, maybe.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I WRITE IN CAPS BECAUSE THIS IS A BIG BUG!
I WAS NOT ABLE TO SHOOT WHEN I TOOK THE GUN POWERUP!
SOLVE THIS OR ONLY HALF OF THE GAME WILL BE PLAYABLE!
Overall good game.

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I found your idea of the cracked egg very good and I also liked the way that you didn't have jumping at first. I think that their wasn't much sound to hear but the sound that there was was nice to hear.

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Caridorc, I'm not able to reproduce the bug. How it happened? And thanks for the heads up.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Neat ! I really enjoyed this game ! Congratulations :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Good stuff, controls were a bit 'floaty' but I did feel myself compelled to find more 'evolutions'. Waiting for platforms was a drag.

Zednaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cool game! The graphics were simple but charming, and the gameplay was fun; learning new moves was a fun twist. I also enjoyed the voice work, it was funny and made the game that much more charming.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Love a game where I can evolve the character!

granut100 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

This game is really good! The evolution of the player was very neat aswell.

granut100 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

This game is really good! The evolution of the player was very neat as well.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

A pretty nice metroidvania styled game, but the character moves MUCH TOO SLOW. It was kind of cool to see the character change as you got powerups, and I really think it would have been cool if you could keep playing after you got the wings, it would be cool to see what secrets are possible to find with them, but I understand that you probably couldn't due to time constraints...

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40am

Cool game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

i like the gfx good job :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02am

Ok but for real.
You gotta evolve this.
This was real good.

Don't stop working on it!

The premise where the egg falls and then you get legs is so good.
Animations are nice too!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Really good level and powerup design! Really enjoyed playing to the end.

Only sticking point I had was when I got the shoot power, I thought it said 'press H to shoot' (the X looks like an H) and spent a while pressing H and wondering why it didn't work -__- so that font could maybe be changed.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:52am

I really liked the changing powerups mechanic, which was very new and really changed the way in which I accessed the levels. Also, when I got my new legs and needed to wait for a platform, I enjoyed standing there moving incrementally from side to side--because the animation looked like the creature was dancing. The cackling devils are hilarious!

However, the platforming and collision detection on the spikes are pretty bad, and the immediate snap back to the save point with no frames in-between--and the unusually loud SFX along with it--was quite stressful. I'm pretty sure I tried a certain section--the one pit right after picking up the shooty tentacle--twenty, thirty times without being able to get anywhere, and though I'm not the greatest at platformers, I'm certainly not *that* bad.

As someone else here said, keep evolving! This is a cool idea with a cute execution.

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:42pm

The checkpoint system is VERY nice, especially when I'm sliding into those stupid spikes on those trickier jumps.
Something was wrong with my audio. It was all out of sync (like way late or something...). Good work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]