Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moles Warriors

by kukilin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After participating in several Mini LD I can now say I have completed my first LD.

Moles Warriors is an adventure platform game where we control and not one, not two, four bullets!

Each mole is different and has different abilities (although they all jump and shoot):

Mole 1: Normal speed and big jump.
Mole 2: Normal speed, big jump, but has a jetpack!
Mole 3: Slow speed, short hop, great power!
Mole 4: Small, tiny but with Super Speed and Super Jump.

In Moles Warriors must find the exit of the cave, where we can also collect coins, but watch out for enemies.

Controls:

A: Left
D: Right
Click Left: shot
Click Right: Jump
Key 1: Mole 1
Key 2: Mole 2
Key 3: Mole 3
Key 4: Mole 4

I hope you enjoy!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#271Humor2.94
#297Audio3.17
#382Fun3.23
#517Overall3.21
#545Theme3.28
#611Graphics3.09
#665Mood2.88
#899Innovation2.60

Comments

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

haha I love that the moles have giant metal arms and fist. The different moles seem pretty well balanced. Good Job! :)

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

Hi, can you change your link from web to windows ? It's misleading. Thanks

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Good game ^^. Enjoyed it a lot :D

kukilin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Thanks to all for comment :D

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Good game, was really fun to play!
Only two "problems": Enemies can shoot through walls? And I really don't like jump on the right mouse key ;)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I like this type of game, the moles are a good idea!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Managed about 100 coins before dying. Pretty cool though! Missing a bit of polish but there's a decent amount of fun in here!

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

nice music :-). fun game... quite easy with the mole with a jetpack though.

lokijki says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

When I died, the game crashed and gave me this error:


___________________________________________
############################################################################################
ERROR in
action number 1
of Destroy Event
for object skull_man:

Creating instance for non-existing object: -100
at gml_Object_skull_man_Destroy_0
############################################################################################


Otherwise, it was fun! :)

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Pretty cool. Good job.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

That's great

chocobyte says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Very nice music ;) Sadly, it crashed for me, too.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Agh, I hate the new Windows Smartscreen. It asked me for confirmation to play, then Norton literally deleted it automatically.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice Game!

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Great music, and I love the 4 different moles. The enemies, sounds, and health bar reminded me of Megaman. :I

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Good fun. Liked the massive punching fist!

kukilin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Bug Fixed. Thanks to all for play, comment and support :D

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Great mechanics, but I found the controls frustrating. Shooting with the mouse button and controlling shot direction with the keyboard is an awkward combination.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Great job on this! I love that the moles are so different. Though, admittedly, I used the jetpack most of the time. Also, the music didn't loop for me, which sucks 'cause I like it lol.

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Cool game although the controls were a bit annoying

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Good game, collision seemed slightly off, nothing too major.

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

It was really fun! The only real problems I found was I would get stuck in the map all over the place, and when moving left into a block it kind of glitches.

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

The game is kind of fun. I couldn't find any advantage in the slow moving mole, since his attack didn't seem any different.

One hit kill from the spikes was also a bit annoying.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Not bad, very good mood and the moles are so cute

Agreon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Cool Game ;)

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59pm

It reminds me to megaman of nes, nice memories :_) And a classic retro platforms game always is well received.

callidus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01pm

nice lil platformer, good variety of mechanics :-) fun to play.

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10am

Ah, a little attempt at a MegaMan clone, hm? And those attack aniamtions? Cool. But it's rather generic and I felt like I wasn't able to jump high enough; I got stuck on the bottom of the map rather easily. It's a nice idea but it could use some more fleshing out to be sure.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:47pm

haha ..nice fist :) .. im so glad you didnt use the sfxr 'coin' sound for the coins.. +1 from me..good job :)

May 5, 2014 @ 9:53am

Fun little game, really like the animations. Is there a way to upgrade jump height that I haven't found? Cause it seems that some platforms are impossible to reach.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The control scheme is terrible. The graphics are mediocre. The level design is unfair. But for some reason I keep wanting to play to see if I can get to an ending. I think it's the music? OK yes the music is addictive.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:53am

RAR format makes me :-( please use zip

It would be nice to put the 1-4 key descriptions in the game, I thought something was seriously wrong with level design after a couple plays until I came back to this page to look at the description more carefully. Impressive level and enemies. Not fun dropping into a pit with spikes you can't see at the bottom.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]