Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

John The Miner

by iceferret - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I got sick of trying to fix it and make it work.
The game is not finished but I hope I can get some feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Audio3.52
#465Theme3.36
#745Graphics2.86
#849Humor2.00
#878Mood2.63
#947Fun2.55
#1026Overall2.68
#1186Innovation2.05
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54am

Lovely style, really catchy music. I loved how well you taught the wall-jump without any explicit instruction!

Dooleus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

The room with tons of boxes and multiple players gave me massive slowdown. The walljumping felt clunky - you move too fast back towards the wall and you can only walljump when moving INTO the wall, so it makes doing the bouncing back-and-forth thing not work so well. The art is simple but clean. The audio could be more developed. The slowdown issue previously mentioned was a deal-breaker for me, so I didn't see how much content there really is.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

The music is great and the wall jumping was well implemented. I wish there was more to play!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Really fun! I really liked the wall jumping.

Afrosatan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Fun little game, the second wall jump was the hard for me, it doesn't seem to latch to the wall easy/long enough.
The second level got laggy and I don't know what the purpose was since the green squares wouldn't die.

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

Met the lag room as well. Don't really know what was going on in there :(

iceferret says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

I didn't finish the game, I got frustrated and decided to put a bunch of stuff in there.
Sorry for the inconvenience, maybe someday i'll finish it

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I found the wall jumping to be a little frustrating, but that's probably a lack of dexterity on my part.

stenol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Good little game with a very good music. Gratz.

ZYXer says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:32am

"Trying to fix it and make it work" is the main thing you have to do while making games ;)

I actually think you already got quite far with the game. The wall jumping mechanic is definitly well done. The music is also quite good. But when I got to the room with all the green squares my framerate fell to about a frame every three seconds, which made it unplayable.

tanjent says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:09pm

The Box room framerate room was OK for me. Seems like the default screen settings are a bit too big for my monitor. I think this game can be a game control mastery. The suit switching could be used as a good puzzle device: get different capabilities, or move controls to another hero on the level. Sort of a beneath the surface of the heroes meta-game :)

DevWouter says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:22pm

In the future it might be a good idea to create a few shorter levels in which you introduce new gameplay ccncepts. The first walljump was fine (I only discovered by accident), but the second was quite hard.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]