Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moletube

by johnhackworth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

------------
Achtung!

Some people seems to experiment some lag issues with the game... It's STRONGLY recomended to use Chrome to play it, since the performance of the other major browser would not be as nice at it should rendering all those entities ...
-------------

The former mining city of Moletown is slowly becoming the jewel of the northern Moleland.
Moles from all over the world are arriving to the city thanks to its sprawling industry. The city has grow too much in the last years, and now is too large. Moletownies has to walk too to arrive from home to work, and their life is becoming less happy than it should.

Moletown needs you!

Moletown needs a mass transist system!

Moletown needs a monorail!

Err, no, Moletown needs an efficient underground network ... Build a underground network to help moletownies to go from their homes to their workplaces and back, and keep them happy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#354Theme3.49
#384Innovation3.32
#551Graphics3.17
#629Humor2.33
#812Overall2.92
#958Audio1.80
#991Fun2.48
#1036Mood2.41

Comments

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15am

Really laggy for me unfortunately, the art was good, and the game idea sounds really fun though.

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

there are some combination of OS/browser (firefox, I'm looking at you) where the game lags like hell :(

I hope I can compile some native versions soon to avoid the problem

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Stops working after I add three subway entrances

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Please, for those who has problems with the game, could you please tell me which browser and OS you're using so I could check?

thanks!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Very laggy and slow on Chrome/Mac. After I add a station on L! it completely stops.

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

Didn't play on Firefox, and Chrome lagged like crazy. Also, the instructions were very small, hard to see on the bright background (Windows 7, latest Firefox, lateest Chrome Version 34.0.1847.131 m). your game looked interesting though :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

Nicely made and good thinking for the theme, but it's very laggy here (it was almost unplayable :O)

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

ok, found ... I had a crashing bug when you added some stations but didn't add a line between them (the game path finding algorythm were assuming that all the stations would have at least one line, DAMN). It's fixed now, it shouldn't crash anymore

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

The laggy issue seems to be your browsers generating 60 (fps) * 50 (number of moles looking for paths) error reports each second :I

hitinyfriends says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

I added like 7 subway stations and works fine! (in chrome)My moles are happy even if they have to go to work :D

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Might be fun if it were not for the lags :(

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Really daring, complex concept, execution was nice, too. Maybe a little too large of a game idea for 48 hours? Anyways, well done and good job! :)

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Really laggy for me unfortunately.

Ambitious project for 48 hours and love the art.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I guess I'll check back later. Maybe you're able to fix the lag.

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

damn... I guess I was too ambitious for a browser game ... In my computer ran quite fine, but I didn't have tested it on any other (of course, not much time for testing on 48h :) ). I've uploaded a fix reducing the number of entities (less moles, smaller map) to try to fix the lag issue

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

How do you earn money?

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22pm

LewisW -> each time a mole enter a metro station, you earn 5$

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I liked the concept and being able to customize my own city. I would love to have seen more balance in the economy - it took me a long time to build my sixth station, so that I didn't have enough opportunity to experiment with station placement.

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

@JoeProgram -> thank you! I would love to have had more time to playtest & balance. Also, on my original idea, you could setup ticket prices making more or less attractive your network to the moles, but I that had to be cut out of the final game (maybe I should take this and build a propper game over it, with all the features I left out)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I'm also experiencing the lag issue, even in Chrome. Looks impressive though, and I really like the idea.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I would really urge you to write a fuller instruction on how to play the game or even better a tutorial intro level, because I had to reload 4-5 times to just figure out how the building stops and connecting worked. The limit of lines per stop (even though there seems to be a bug in that number if you make a circular line). Never found any undo either.

I think I got it down, but I didn't find any speed up the pace at which the game runs so I don't know if I got any revenue unfortunately. There was no clear indication that my lines were in operation either.

Some dudes stopped walking, don't know if they simply were too upset. Clicking on those to the left side made their info come outside the screen.

I think this could become a fun game, but for me there was a bit too much troubleshooting to even get to playing. Unfortunately.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Really interresting idea and great graphics ! You really should polish this game in a post-compo version ! Lot of potential ;)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Really great concept

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Great entry. I love resource management/strategy games, and they seem to be a bit of a rarity. The graphics are great, and the concept and mechanics are solid and well executed. It was a little bit laggy in places, but never un-playable for me. Nicely done.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:07pm

earning money doesnt go really fast, it is still a nice game :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Unfortunately I don't understand it. I built some subway stations and connected them, but none of the moles ever entered one. Although the mole happiness increases, I earn no money. I tired to restart several times, but no luck. The idea ist good, but I am not able to play it right.

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:57pm

very innovative concept.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Well this seems interesting, but I don't understand the controls.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really like when people attempt to make these types of games! Awesome! Really 'dug' it! See what i did there ;)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

it took me a while to understand the game but finally I did, great concept, graphics are good, remembers me to simcity 2000 lol.

Naouak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Nice graphics and idea. I have an issue with the rythm of the game, you have to wait way too long to get a new station.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

No lag here, even in Firefox. Interesting concept, would love to see this expanded.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This looks great and I can definitely see where you were going with it :)
It runs perfectly fine for me in Chrome (Mac Os X), but didn't run at all in Firefox.
The line creating does seem to be a bit bugged. It created some random lines which I didn't want to and didn't create other lines that I DID want to make (always telling me a station can only have 2 lines - even when I still only had used 1 line on the entire map)...

May 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

I like the idea of this, I'm a bit of a city builder nut , but I think the mole people needed to be a bit more random where they go. After I placed some stations and had no money (well, $200 but it won't let you place another then) none of the moles walked past my stations :(

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I liked the concept but I definitely didn't understand how to make progress since the moles never entered the stations or I made money. :(

jellymann says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:23am

The concept is good, I found the theme amusing :) Didn't quite understand how to get the moles using my system either, also the moles are very hard to click on, so you have to kinda judge where they're going to be when you click on them. While it didn't lag on my computer, it sure got my temperatures up, which is a little disconcerting since this game doesn't seem like it should be so demanding.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:33pm

A solid proof of concept with a lot of potential.

Consider the following, if you decide to build an extended edition:
-Ability to remove stations and lines.
-Ability to see worker traffic paths, either by clicking on a building to see all in&out traffic (as in SimCity4) or by showing the paths of all current workers.
-Another possibility is to show average in&out amounts based on city blocks/areas on the map as an overlay of sorts (0 apartments, 25 workplaces in this area)
-Workers should seek nearby stations on a known radius (they might already do this but it's not explained/show anywhere)
-Ability to pause the game (just to be able to click on those bloody moles!)

Basically more useful and easy to understand information for the player as well as interface improvements.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Amazing AI!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Nice concept. I didn't understand everything but I reached 80% mole satisfaction so I'm quite happy with myself :)

May 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I really sucked at this game, but I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Needs a bit of extra work but the concept is good and I like the story behind it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]