Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Forsaken Pit

by Afrosatan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Web based, html/css/js/AngularJS with Java/JAX-RS webservices and postgresql backend.

You are a guy with a gun and and run around underground killing monsters or other players.

It's multiplayer, and there is a leaderboard.

How To Play

First, create a new character at the top of the page - enter a name and pick a color (the color only changes the insignia on your suit).

Your character will be in the middle of the map, click anywhere on the map and you will get a popup with the options for what you can do.
You can move anywhere, you can attack monsters and players, you can click on yourself and rest which restores health.
When you attack enemies you get 1 point, and if you kill them you get 5 more points.
Every 50 points you get gives you additional firepower and max health.
Points put you on the leaderboard.
How much damage (firepower) you do and how much health you have is on the right.
There aren't any animations unfortunately, so you can pay attention to the messages/events on the bottom of the screen.

There are 2 monsters/npcs right now:
The Ogre is melee and has more health
The Laser Slug is ranged

The world is 50x50 and repeats, I meant to add stairs leading to deeper levels with tougher monsters for the theme, but didn't have time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#912Innovation2.59
#1077Graphics2.32
#1115Theme2.32
#1136Overall2.50
#1164Mood2.05
#1166Fun2.14
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

Damn... killed by an ogre. Liked the leaderboard!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Cool that you put in a leaderboard, it was hard to tell movement, due to staying centered on screen, and the plain background, but nice job:)

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Fun, but moving can be a little awkward.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Needed a labyrinth and more content.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Needs a bit more work if you ask me, but the beginning is there!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23am

THe kernel of the idea is solid, but it's hard to correlate changes from frame to frame without feedback; movement especially.

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

The idea is nice, but the game is a bit laggy. Impressive that you used a Java backend.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Totally impressive for 48 (especially multiplayer/leaderboard), yet the long range attacking and being able to spam attacks is a little odd. It's not so much that you can spam, it's that you need to right-click every time I think (and move like that too).

Still super cool! Being able to choose a color is a good touch.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:45am

I coulnd't tell where I was going because everywhere I went looked the same. It would also be nice to not have to do two clicks to move somewhere.

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:59am

Like others said: it's impressive that it's multiplayer, but it doesn't play very smoothly.

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Its really cool to see some online multiplayer games in LD.

I think you could be on to something if you could develop a more polished interface.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]