Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mining Tycoon

by haltoncz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Its my second game ever. :)
And please write your high score to comment thx. (my is 7632)

sorry for my english

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#510Innovation3.12
#719Theme3.08
#942Humor1.88
#1069Overall2.62
#1081Fun2.35
#1128Mood2.20
#1248Graphics1.60
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

rainybyte says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Well, it works. (I think). It is not very well-designed in my opinion. I see what you are trying to implement in the mechanics, but it is too much affected by randomness. For example: randomly mining-not regulating- got me a score of 6360.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

It's got weird mechanics, and sort of obscure mechanics. It's got a nice tutorial and an advanced tutorial, but it requires some time to understand it all.
After some runs it's hard to know when to spend materials on temperature or methane, there's a lot of info and it's hard to know which buttons to use. Highest score: 5478.

Punga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Your link is suddenly broken :/

haltoncz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

oh, sorry my fault.(its fixed)(sorry for that)

Punga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice mechanics, good job ;)

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Pretty neat idea. I ended up with 11,120 for my score =)

Junber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

You didnt have a Web version but a Windows one.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

I got 8829 :) It's interesting to see a game done entirely with Windows Forms!

Stuffie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Its confusing at first but one you figure it out its definitely interesting and impressive for such a simple game. I managed to get 14845 on my second try.

May 9, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Very cool idea actually, after I understood it. It's seems like it's mostly hard to understand because of language difficulties. You could maybe ask someone who is better at written English to proof-read it next time? I only say it, because I think it's a shame that an interesting mechanic like this gets overlooked because it's hard to understand.

I really liked the evacuation mechanic, and the gambling feel to it all! Getting rewarded for quitting at the right time is a pretty cool idea in this kind of game. Kind of a Blackjack-feel. Managed to get 20834 with it!

The Alert button was weird though. Why not display the score at all times?

zzForrest says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Really simplistic, but very boring visually. Plus, I really had no idea how much methane and how much heat it could bear, so the whole mineshaft blowing up thing came out of nowhere. I would have liked some visuals to show how deep the mine is, how much methane, how much heat, etc. I feel like this game should be remade with visuals, but otherwise nice job.

May 15, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Very interesting game! Cool idea! i got 4780 (try number 8) :c it was very fun, great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]