Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mountain King

by capnramses - Jam Entry

Anton Gerdelan (code, pix) @capnramses
Tom Snively (music loops) @tomsnively

Logic is written in JavaScript. Tiles are randomly distributed.
Rendering is done with raw WebGL and simple GLSL shaders
that offset texture coordinates to select the correct
animation frame or tile within a sprite sheet.

Resolution is 512x512 so that it fits most devices
including laptops at x768 resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Fun(Jam)3.42
#159Audio(Jam)3.54
#195Humor(Jam)3.06
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#348Overall(Jam)3.25
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#499Graphics(Jam)3.04
#589Innovation(Jam)2.54
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Very nice game I liked playing it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Solid entry with a good use of one of my favorite musics ! You did a great job, congrats !

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Great game (if a little difficult). Love the animations, and music.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really nice. I especially liked all the player animations.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:31am

Liked the art and music. Really liked how the music changed and got mre tense as you got deeper. Trolls creep me out and coupled with the slow reloads of the period weapons it's a tense game. Well done. Nice work for 48 hours. The controls and ladders work very well and that's not easy to get right.

sandbaydev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:32am

Hah, awesome game! The "fraaaak! I FORGOT TO RELOAD" moment this game cave me was totally awesome. I liked the gfx, and there's actually bit of tactics when maneuvering those trolls.

Me likes.

This could be expanded into so many things: new monsters, new treasures, new type of entrances (or drop from hole but no ladder up), experience points, powerups, faster reload bonuses, ammo, new guns...

(also: this game has one of the best player character move animation I've seen in the history of ld48. The reload anim is very good too)

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Pretty difficult. It reminds me of some older games with the impending doom and shooting limitation. Well done.

ChuiGum says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:16am

Very very nice, like the art style, music, and gameplay

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:19am

that was so much fun - more people need to play it - the music really set the mood and tempo for the game - awesome job

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Solid entry, with challenging gameplay. Graphics and audio is good. Restricted shooting mechanism is also a good idea, so it's necessary to plan ahead. Detection of ladders could use some improvement, at the moment it's possible to climb besides them.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]