Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tic-Tac-BOOM

by ttfreire - Jam Entry

Tic-Tac-BOOM is Tic-Tac-Toe and Mine Sweeper in a cube.

I'm studing Game Development and one of our assignments is to implement Tic-Tac-Toe, so my LD game came from this assignment.

This is the first time I made a game all by myself and it was really great spending the weekend prototyping Tic-Tac-BOOM.

I will enjoy any feedback to improve this game. Feel free to add me on Twitter (@ttfreire).

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Innovation(Jam)3.85
#633Overall(Jam)2.71
#655Theme(Jam)2.47
#688Fun(Jam)2.21
#688Mood(Jam)2.25
#736Graphics(Jam)2.12
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

ttfreire says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Oh, I forgot to explain:

Mouse Wheel and W, A , S, D change the cube planes perspective :)

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

It was quite hard to tell which direction the plane was oriented in the cube. Other than that, not bad - and definitely innovative!

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

source download?
also would appreciate a zip file instead of rar, since I don't have winrar on this computer

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Good job, I like the twist on some classic games.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Honestly, I found the game confusing to play. Sometimes the numbers would change upon pressing the same key twice (e.g. 'd' to change perspective, then 'd' again). Other times I won without realising why.

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Interesting idea! The plane switching seemed to be buggy, I sometimes when the same plane was highlighted it would display something different to the last time. I didn't quite understand how the mine mechanics worked; aren't the numbers meant to go on squares that >don't< contain mines?

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Little confusing as to the visualisation of what's going on here. If it was only surface of the cubes some sort of rotating animation would be great, but with the centre cube also playing an element, not sure what to suggest. Interesting mashup concept, at least.

ttfreire says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Thanks for all feedbacks, guys. I plan to go back to concept phase and rethink all interface and some mechanics. Since I made this game as exercise for a college class, it should be 2D and coded in XNA. Probably I'll use Unity for next verison :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:30pm

very interesting idea. don't think i quite understood the win condition, i seemed to have three x in a diagonal but it didn't win. wasn't sure if it would work diagonally over many layers either

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:14am

I would make a standalone program in the future instead of one that has to install to your system. I didn't rate or play this game for that reason, sorry.

Spaceoff says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Was somewhat difficult to follow the mechanics of this, unfortunately, since it seemed like an interesting spin on things.

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:36am

I'm sorry, I am too dumb to play this. :|

copain says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I don't know if this is a really good or really bad idea. real brainfuck! (especially with the bug...)
I think the interface will be re-thinked for better experience.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]