Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

7 Days

by louis.denizet - Jam Entry

Hello Everyone!

We had originally only 7hours on the 3 days to make the game so we finished a bit after the deadline but in really less than 72hours of work (maybe 30h).

We are really happy of the idea of gameplay and we hope you will like it too!

Team :
Louis Denizet : Programing and game design
Melissandre Samson : graphisms and tests (not the animated graphims).

Animated graphics come from RPG Maker RTP.
Music comes from great artist Adrian Von Ziegler who accepts for non commercial use to use his songs.
Every other sounds come from Freesounds.

I read frequently comments, don't hesite to ask questions.

Wishing you a great day!

And see you next Ludum Dare =)

Music by Adrian Von Ziegler

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Innovation(Jam)3.86
#80Audio(Jam)3.81
#106Mood(Jam)3.73
#140Overall(Jam)3.58
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#228Theme(Jam)3.45
#266Graphics(Jam)3.65
#490Humor(Jam)2.27

Comments

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

That's such a nice and calming game! I would be happy for some kind of tutorial tho, since I am not exactly sure why I didn't get purple flowers in the second level insead of a bush.:/

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:17am

Quite beautiful. Definitely an interesting idea for a game.

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34am

Nice new way of impementing that mechanic. The soothing music made wanna keep playing.

louis.denizet says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The music is from Adrian Von Ziegler, a great artist always happy to share his creations. Thanks to him!

Thank you for playing this little game, we will fix the little problems remaining ;)

May 8, 2014 @ 10:56am

Really interesting concept, REALLY nice music. I love it. Really soothing and fun to play. Good synergy between everything. Graphics are okay, not top of the line but they fit the game well haha. Just make sure to stay in 1 style.

Tomski says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really nice looking game and good music too!

D2FXRayG says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Such a serene game. I like the mood.

louis.denizet says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I'm not sure it's serene from day 6 xD thanks for playing!

mortus says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:07pm

What a lovely game! I actually played it twice (first time for score and second time for aesthetics of creating a balanced world). Nice work!

stenol says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Nice work !

kibertoad says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nicely done ambient game. Pretty and relaxing.

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Good job!

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Excellent action puzzler. Excellent idea served by a near perfect execution (maybe the bottom "spore" zone is a bit to wide?). It is already very polished but you could go much further with this one.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Oh wow, so original!
Completed the game
It's Simply amazing :)
Good luck!

hirngespinst says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:33am

Beautiful and really chilling and relaxing to play. I agree that a tutorial that explains the mechanics a bit better would have been nice. For example - does one plant block the growth of another one? So can a purple flower not grow at a place where a bush is already growing?
Despite that, this is my favorite LD entry so far. :)

OrangeeZ says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

The concept turned out to be very interesting, and the game looks quite solid. Well done!
Also, the music was pretty good.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Congrats! Nicely done!

JimmyBoh says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

For only putting in ~30hrs this is really nice, very relaxing. I was unable to get any Big Trees though (1 seed + 2 sticks).

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

This was really great! It was very atmospheric and relaxing, but it had a decent challenge to it as well. The music was really good too. I found a couple of spelling mistakes on the credits screen: "fighted" should be "fought", and "graphisms" should be "graphics".

May 10, 2014 @ 1:54pm

nice game I like sound music , game idea . it is relax game

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Great game. I wish the range of the "cannon" matched the light brown area. The game is very smooth, very nice to play, calming. Sound effects and music are perfect for this type of game.

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Lovely music. It's like a cool mix of Bubble Bobble and Proteus in terms of visuals... brilliant!

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:19pm

A really beautiful game. The graphics and music are soothing. I liked the day/night cycle and the tutorial. Amazing work!

DraKlaW says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:18am

So pretty ! Love it !

EpiphanyG says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:32am

A very relaxing and beautiful game. I really liked the idea. :)

brayzengames says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:33am

I loved the music and simplicity of the idea. The whole game worked well given you didn't have much time to make it.

One of the better games I've played so far!

tuxxilla says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:51am

Great work! This is my personal Jam favorite so far.

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:21pm

That was an awesome experience! Also, the game had a message, and told it in a very beatiful way.
Only bug I encountered was the timer going into negative hours without ending my game. But that did not prevent me from enjoying the game (quite the contrary, actually: getting the big trees was hard...). Congratulations!

louis.denizet says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Thanks a lot for the feedbacks everyone!

About the bug you encoutered I think I understand why... I make only one condition that if every conditions are incomplete at the end of the day but didn't think that maybe you could have one incomplete and the other complete so day does not end and you don't lose either!

About the faults on the end screen I guess it's because I'm french and we are known for our bad english skill :D

mystakin says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:03am

There's an incredibly strong base for a mobile game here, I believe. It's very calming, simple, and rewarding. Great work!

louis.denizet says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:41am

I actually play it on tablet yes ;) works pretty well !

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Really nice game and suthing music, nice job!

Shivur says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Beautiful game and original gameplay.

Jezzamon says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:27am

This is quite a nice game! I like the vibe of it

The game acutally worked pretty well on my touchscreen PC.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]